IMPORTANT! This is MoneySavingExpert's open forum - anyone can post

Please exercise caution & report any spam, illegal, offensive, racist, libellous post to forumteam@moneysavingexpert.com

  • Be nice to all MoneySavers
  • All the best tips go in the MoneySavingExpert weekly email

    Plus all the new guides, deals & loopholes

  • No spam/referral links
or Login with Facebook
Tumble dryer only blowing cold air.
Closed Thread
Views: 2,440
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
# 1
cleggie
Old 26-02-2012, 1:25 PM
Fantastically Fervent MoneySaving Super Fan
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 2,112
Default Tumble dryer only blowing cold air.

Hi
I have an Indesot condenser tumble dryer.
A few weeks ago i noticed that the air being blown into it to dry the clothes, wasnt as hot as it shuld be, and it took ages to dry anything.
So, i looked it up on google, and as a result of that, i washed and cleaned the filter and the condenser.
It worked as it should (at the correct heat) for 1 load only, but now it is blowing cold air (even colder than what it was).

Any idea what could be wrong, how it could be fixed etc as i cant afford a new one!

Thanks in advance.
cleggie is offline
Report Post
# 2
tigeress289
Old 26-02-2012, 1:50 PM
MoneySaving Stalwart
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 297
Smile

I had the same thing happen some time ago and called out a local company to me. It appears that it is a sensor or fuse that blows, which controls the element. From memory we were charged £40 inc part. Since then worked perfect and easily changed, as done on site. Try your local electrical outlets, look in your local paper or gumtree online. Ask for a quote before you do anything.
tigeress289 is offline
Report Post
# 3
flashg67
Old 26-02-2012, 1:53 PM
Serious MoneySaving Fan
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Up North
Posts: 1,198
Default

My Hotpoint (I think they are same manufacturer?) was doing this intermittently. It turned out to be the heating element. Once I had the back cover off, it was obvious - one of the elements was broken. Was an easy fix and about £45 for the part from ebay. I do also remember that they have a habit of blowing the thermostats too - I've done mine twice in 5 years. Again, an easy fix and about £10 for both thermostats.

If you are, or know, a competent DIYer, then both these jobs are fairly straightforward, but if you need to get someone out, you'll probably not be far off the price of a new dryer!
flashg67 is online now
Report Post
# 4
cleggie
Old 26-02-2012, 3:58 PM
Fantastically Fervent MoneySaving Super Fan
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 2,112
Default

Thanks for the replies.

I googled it a bit more and came across a post in a forum which said that i needed to remove the grey casing on a box on the bottom right hand side (at the back) of the dryer, and make sure there is no water in the water tray.
So, i did that, and it was full with water. So i emptied the water out of there, and checked that the pipes that lead to the water tray were not blocked.
Hey presto, it is now blowing hot air again, and drying my clothes properly!
BUT, now the light that indicates you needing to empty the water (in the normal water tray IYSWIM- the one that you normally empty after each cycle) has come on, and wont go off again!


EDIT: no, now its stopped blowing hot air, and the little water tray on the back that i had to open and empty, is full up again!

HELP PLEASE!
cleggie is offline
Report Post
# 5
macman
Old 26-02-2012, 4:40 PM
Deliciously Dedicated Diehard MoneySaving Devotee
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 34,550
Default

Sounds like pump failure-the lower tank holds the water until it's pumped up to the top (removable) tank in a consdenser drier. If it won't pump up, then it presumably locks out the heating element to avoid overfilling the bottom tank. If it blows hot air temporarily when you've emptied the bottom tank, then the element must be OK-once it fills, it locks out again.
If that is the fault, the top tank will not be filling.
Pump change is a fairly straightforward DIY job, or will cost you around £50 to get a white goods engineer in, plus the pump cost (around £20).
No free lunch, and no free laptop

Last edited by macman; 26-02-2012 at 4:44 PM.
macman is offline
Report Post
The Following User Says Thank You to macman For This Useful Post: Show me >>
# 6
cleggie
Old 26-02-2012, 4:42 PM
Fantastically Fervent MoneySaving Super Fan
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 2,112
Default

Thanks macman.

I cleaned the water out again, then took the top off the dryer, made sure the hoe into the water container wasnt blocked, cleaned it al out, and out the top back on , plugged it in, and now its working again!!
3rd time lucky!!

EDIT- hmm, there is no water collecting in the drawer that i am supposed to empty, so i am not sure if its going to go wrong again.

Last edited by cleggie; 26-02-2012 at 4:44 PM.
cleggie is offline
Report Post
# 7
macman
Old 26-02-2012, 5:01 PM
Deliciously Dedicated Diehard MoneySaving Devotee
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 34,550
Default

As I said, if it's not pumping up to the top tank, and the feed to that isn't blocked, then the pump has failed. As soon as the bottom tank reaches the max level, it will cut out again.
You're clearly quite handy, so changing the pump should be a simple job for you.
Pumps are fairly standard and easily available online.
No free lunch, and no free laptop
macman is offline
Report Post
The Following User Says Thank You to macman For This Useful Post: Show me >>
# 8
cleggie
Old 26-02-2012, 5:07 PM
Fantastically Fervent MoneySaving Super Fan
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 2,112
Default

Thanks macman.
Where would i get a pump from do you know?
Its at times ike this that i wish i weren't a single mum!!
cleggie is offline
Report Post
# 9
macman
Old 26-02-2012, 5:14 PM
Deliciously Dedicated Diehard MoneySaving Devotee
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 34,550
Default

Try here:
http://www.espares.co.uk/
No reason why a single mum can't change a pump, if you can take the top/rear panel off, then you have done the difficult part. A pump, is normally just two electrical connectors and a jubilee clip.
No free lunch, and no free laptop
macman is offline
Report Post
The Following User Says Thank You to macman For This Useful Post: Show me >>
# 10
cleggie
Old 26-02-2012, 5:26 PM
Fantastically Fervent MoneySaving Super Fan
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 2,112
Default

You are a star macman!
I have located the pump on my tunbe dryer, just above the water tray?

But when i go to that link you gave me, and chose 'tuble dryers' i get this list:

http://www.espares.co.uk/search/tumb...sit/p/1088/805

it doesnt say anything about pumps? any idea where i should look? Sorry, i know i am being a pain but you are my only hope!!

OK, i found it http://www.espares.co.uk/part/tumble...ater-pump.html

Last edited by cleggie; 26-02-2012 at 5:29 PM.
cleggie is offline
Report Post
The Following User Says Thank You to cleggie For This Useful Post: Show me >>
Closed Thread

Bookmarks
 
 




Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

 Forum Jump  

Contact Us - MoneySavingExpert.com - Archive - Privacy Statement - Top

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

All times are GMT +1. The time now is 9:02 PM.

 Forum Jump  

Free MoneySaving Email

Top deals: Week of 23 July 2014

Get all this & more in MoneySavingExpert's weekly email full of guides, vouchers and Deals

GET THIS FREE WEEKLY EMAIL Full of deals, guides & it's spam free

Latest News & Blogs

Martin's Twitter Feed

profile

Cheap Travel Money

Find the best online rate for holiday cash with MSE's TravelMoneyMax.

Find the best online rate for your holiday cash with MoneySavingExpert's TravelMoneyMax.

TuneChecker Top Albums

  • VARIOUS ARTISTSNOW THAT'S WHAT I CALL MUSIC! 88
  • ED SHEERANX (DELUXE EDITION)
  • COURTEENERSHOW GOOD IT WAS

MSE's Twitter Feed

profile
Always remember anyone can post on the MSE forums, so it can be very different from our opinion.
We use Skimlinks and other affiliated links in some of our boards, for some of our users.