Main site > MoneySavingExpert.com Forums > Household & Travel > Energy > Moving a gas meter outside (Page 1)

IMPORTANT! This is MoneySavingExpert's open forum - anyone can post

Please exercise caution & report any spam, illegal, offensive, racist, libellous post to forumteam@moneysavingexpert.com

  • Be nice to all MoneySavers
  • All the best tips go in the MoneySavingExpert weekly email

    Plus all the new guides, deals & loopholes

  • No spam/referral links
or Login with Facebook
Moving a gas meter outside
Closed Thread
Views: 17,037
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
# 1
forgetso
Old 19-02-2012, 12:46 PM
MoneySaving Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 7
Default Moving a gas meter outside

Hi,

I have recently been quoted 680 by SGN to move my meter from underneath the kitchen sink to outside.

This seems like an absolutely insane amount and they won't even reconnect the pipes to the combi boiler inside (the guy who did the survey said this).

Does anyone know if there's a cheaper way to get this done?

I read here (http ://cfi.custhelp.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/5479) that any competent person (who is Gas Safe Registered) can move the gas meter as long as the control valve doesn't need to be moved.

If I change gas suppliers can I get the meter moved for free?

Thanks
forgetso is offline
Report Post
# 2
macman
Old 19-02-2012, 1:34 PM
Deliciously Dedicated Diehard MoneySaving Devotee
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 35,548
Default

No,a GSR cannot move the meter. It's not your property.
It's a captive market and the costs are always very high.
They might change a meter for free-but they won't move it, that is far more work.
No free lunch, and no free laptop
macman is online now
Report Post
The Following User Says Thank You to macman For This Useful Post: Show me >>
# 3
forgetso
Old 19-02-2012, 1:57 PM
MoneySaving Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 7
Default

Ok, looks like I am just going to have to stump up the cash. Thanks for the info.
forgetso is offline
Report Post
# 4
lemontart
Old 19-02-2012, 2:34 PM
Fantastically Fervent MoneySaving Super Fan
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: east mids
Posts: 5,394
Default

problem is the control valve is going to me moved as that is on the incoming pipe too
I am responsible me, myself and I alone I am not the keeper others thoughts and words.
lemontart is online now
Report Post
# 5
C_Mababejive
Old 19-02-2012, 6:02 PM
Fantastically Fervent MoneySaving Super Fan
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 8,024
Default

It may well be possible to retain the service,unaltered,haivng the ECV inside,but to resite the meter outside.
Feudal Britain needs land reform. 70% of the land is "owned" by 1 % of the population and at least 50% is unregistered (inherited by landed gentry). Thats why your slave box costs so much..
C_Mababejive is offline
Report Post
# 6
chanz4
Old 19-02-2012, 7:15 PM
Fantastically Fervent MoneySaving Super Fan
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 8,372
Default

It is possible, but would be capped if SGN was out on an emergency and found it. You cant have copped from the ecv to the inlet which is the only way of doing what you have suggested.
Don't put your trust into an Experian score - it is not a number any bank will ever use & it is generally a waste of money to purchase it. They are also selling you insurance you dont need.
chanz4 is online now
Report Post
# 7
C_Mababejive
Old 19-02-2012, 8:31 PM
Fantastically Fervent MoneySaving Super Fan
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 8,024
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chanz4 View Post
It is possible, but would be capped if SGN was out on an emergency and found it. You cant have copped from the ecv to the inlet which is the only way of doing what you have suggested.

Yes it is possible to have a no flexible inlet from the ECV to the regulator inlet provided that such a pipe is marked as carrying gas (tape) and there is a label on the meter indicating the location of the ECV. It isnt that commonplace,but the regulations do allow it. The only issue might be that to be 100% correct,you should seek the permission of the MAM (meter asset manager) before working on their meter.

A meter could easily be relocated for example,back to back from its existing position,in a standard outside meter box for a fraction of the cost of excavation/service alteration.
Feudal Britain needs land reform. 70% of the land is "owned" by 1 % of the population and at least 50% is unregistered (inherited by landed gentry). Thats why your slave box costs so much..
C_Mababejive is offline
Report Post
# 8
chanz4
Old 19-02-2012, 9:10 PM
Fantastically Fervent MoneySaving Super Fan
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 8,372
Default

Its the GT that you would need the permission from, the meter wouldnt need working on.
Don't put your trust into an Experian score - it is not a number any bank will ever use & it is generally a waste of money to purchase it. They are also selling you insurance you dont need.
chanz4 is online now
Report Post
# 9
C_Mababejive
Old 19-02-2012, 9:22 PM
Fantastically Fervent MoneySaving Super Fan
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 8,024
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chanz4 View Post
Its the GT that you would need the permission from, the meter wouldnt need working on.
The GTs responsibility ends at the network termination point, i.e the ECV. Anything from the ECV to the meter outlet belongs to the MAM.
Feudal Britain needs land reform. 70% of the land is "owned" by 1 % of the population and at least 50% is unregistered (inherited by landed gentry). Thats why your slave box costs so much..
C_Mababejive is offline
Report Post
The Following User Says Thank You to C_Mababejive For This Useful Post: Show me >>
# 10
gentlebloke
Old 26-02-2012, 2:34 PM
MoneySaving Convert
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 29
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by macman View Post
No,a GSR cannot move the meter. It's not your property.
It's a captive market and the costs are always very high.
They might change a meter for free-but they won't move it, that is far more work.
Wrong again....

A GSR engineer CAN move the meter. The GT would be needed to move the ECV.
gentlebloke is offline
Report Post
# 11
C_Mababejive
Old 27-02-2012, 1:03 AM
Fantastically Fervent MoneySaving Super Fan
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 8,024
Default

A GSR would need MET1 and the permission of the MAM.
Feudal Britain needs land reform. 70% of the land is "owned" by 1 % of the population and at least 50% is unregistered (inherited by landed gentry). Thats why your slave box costs so much..
C_Mababejive is offline
Report Post
The Following User Says Thank You to C_Mababejive For This Useful Post: Show me >>
# 12
lemontart
Old 27-02-2012, 4:48 PM
Fantastically Fervent MoneySaving Super Fan
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: east mids
Posts: 5,394
Default

for those who do not know MET1 is a the qualification and the licenced to do code you would need to see on their gas safe details in order for them to be permitted to touch the meter and the MAM is the meter asset manager who is responsible for the meter - you would have to speak to the gas supplier for them to sort out that permission.

There are very few gas safe registered installers with this - www.gassaferegister.co.uk and I get the impression most would rather not get involved due to the red tape involved with such.
I am responsible me, myself and I alone I am not the keeper others thoughts and words.
lemontart is online now
Report Post
# 13
lemontart
Old 27-02-2012, 4:50 PM
Fantastically Fervent MoneySaving Super Fan
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: east mids
Posts: 5,394
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by forgetso View Post
Hi,
.

If I change gas suppliers can I get the meter moved for free?

Thanks
No is the simple answer this is a chargeable job regardless of who is your supplier as it is not them that do the work as it involves the incoming supply which is not theirs to touch.
I am responsible me, myself and I alone I am not the keeper others thoughts and words.
lemontart is online now
Report Post
# 14
trufflepig
Old 05-07-2012, 9:08 PM
MoneySaving Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 1
Default

Hello Folks,

Bumping this thread because I've a similar query & you chaps seem to know whats what. I would like to turn a gas fireplace back into an open fireplace but the gas meter several feet or stone away from it. How close is too close? Would I have to move the meter outside too?

Many thanks

TP
trufflepig is offline
Report Post
# 15
lemontart
Old 06-07-2012, 8:59 AM
Fantastically Fervent MoneySaving Super Fan
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: east mids
Posts: 5,394
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by C_Mababejive View Post
Yes it is possible to have a no flexible inlet from the ECV to the regulator inlet provided that such a pipe is marked as carrying gas (tape) and there is a label on the meter indicating the location of the ECV. It isnt that commonplace,but the regulations do allow it. The only issue might be that to be 100% correct,you should seek the permission of the MAM (meter asset manager) before working on their meter.

A meter could easily be relocated for example,back to back from its existing position,in a standard outside meter box for a fraction of the cost of excavation/service alteration.
if that happens gsi;s etc call it in for a check for safety........
I am responsible me, myself and I alone I am not the keeper others thoughts and words.
lemontart is online now
Report Post
# 16
jaygee80
Old 26-09-2012, 3:48 PM
MoneySaving Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 2
Default

Hi and sorry to bring this up again!

I am needing to move the gas meter from the internal wall of my house to the same wall but externally. Can I use a GasSafe engineer to do this or do I need to go to Northern Gas Network?

Thanks to all that reply.
jaygee80 is offline
Report Post
# 17
lemontart
Old 26-09-2012, 3:50 PM
Fantastically Fervent MoneySaving Super Fan
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: east mids
Posts: 5,394
Default

You need to go to northern gasworks if that is your gas network as it would involve moving the emergency control valve
I am responsible me, myself and I alone I am not the keeper others thoughts and words.
lemontart is online now
Report Post
The Following User Says Thank You to lemontart For This Useful Post: Show me >>
# 18
jaygee80
Old 26-09-2012, 4:07 PM
MoneySaving Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 2
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lemontart View Post
You need to go to northern gasworks if that is your gas network as it would involve moving the emergency control valve
And if the ECV stayed where it was but the meter was moved?
jaygee80 is offline
Report Post
# 19
lemontart
Old 26-09-2012, 11:54 PM
Fantastically Fervent MoneySaving Super Fan
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: east mids
Posts: 5,394
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jaygee80 View Post
And if the ECV stayed where it was but the meter was moved?

as already mentioned in the post there is a lot of red tape to go through i.e. permission from the gas supplier to allow someone other than the gas net work to touch the meter i,e move it - read through my earlier posts in this thread.
I am responsible me, myself and I alone I am not the keeper others thoughts and words.
lemontart is online now
Report Post
# 20
chanz4
Old 27-09-2012, 7:33 AM
Fantastically Fervent MoneySaving Super Fan
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 8,372
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lemontart View Post
as already mentioned in the post there is a lot of red tape to go through i.e. permission from the gas supplier to allow someone other than the gas net work to touch the meter i,e move it - read through my earlier posts in this thread.

Which isnt going to happen
Don't put your trust into an Experian score - it is not a number any bank will ever use & it is generally a waste of money to purchase it. They are also selling you insurance you dont need.
chanz4 is online now
Report Post
Closed Thread

Bookmarks
 
 




Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

 Forum Jump  

Contact Us - MoneySavingExpert.com - Archive - Privacy Statement - Top

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

All times are GMT +1. The time now is 5:31 PM.

 Forum Jump  

Free MoneySaving Email

Top deals: Week of 01 October 2014

Get all this & more in MoneySavingExpert's weekly email full of guides, vouchers and Deals

GET THIS FREE WEEKLY EMAIL Full of deals, guides & it's spam free

Latest News & Blogs

Martin's Twitter Feed

profile
  • RT @MSE_Deals: MSE Blagged: Get £10 specs, incl lenses and delivery, with online codes for glasses & sunglasses. http://t.co/tNGL0MrnL3
  • FCA proving it has more teeth than the old FSA - living up to its promises to get involved with companies screwing consumers.
  • Lots more people seem to be getting their #CPP payout today - have you? (PS remember CPP is not same as PPI)

Cheap Travel Money

Find the best online rate for holiday cash with MSE's TravelMoneyMax.

Find the best online rate for your holiday cash with MoneySavingExpert's TravelMoneyMax.

TuneChecker Top Albums

  • ED SHEERANX (DELUXE EDITION)
  • ALT-JTHIS IS ALL YOURS
  • SAM SMITHIN THE LONELY HOUR (DELUXE EDITION)

MSE's Twitter Feed

profile
Always remember anyone can post on the MSE forums, so it can be very different from our opinion.
We use Skimlinks and other affiliated links in some of our boards, for some of our users.