Main site > MoneySavingExpert.com Forums > Household & Travel > Techie Stuff > Sky Plus - Copying to DVD (via DVD recorder or La... (Page 1)

IMPORTANT! This is MoneySavingExpert's open forum - anyone can post

Please exercise caution & report any spam, illegal, offensive, racist, libellous post to forumteam@moneysavingexpert.com

  • Be nice to all MoneySavers
  • All the best tips go in the MoneySavingExpert weekly email

    Plus all the new guides, deals & loopholes

  • No spam/referral links
or Login with Facebook
Sky Plus - Copying to DVD (via DVD recorder or Laptop) - how do I do it?
Closed Thread
Views: 102,651
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
# 1
dfdemello
Old 28-01-2007, 12:37 PM
MoneySaving Convert
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 26
Default Sky Plus - Copying to DVD (via DVD recorder or Laptop) - how do I do it?

Hello all,

I have a growing collection of things on my Sky plus box that I want to copy to DVD to permanently store and clear up space on the box. Does anyone have an easy to follow way to do this via a laptop or DVD recorder? My Sky plus box has no USB port but a TV Scart, S-Video and Rs332 "slots" at the back. Would be grateful for any assistance.

Cheers
Be the change you want to see in this world - Gandhi

It is unwise to be too sure of one's own wisdom. It is healthy to be reminded that the strongest might weaken
and the wisest might err - Gandhi.

He who will not economize will have to agonize - Confucius
dfdemello is offline
Report Post
# 2
missile
Old 28-01-2007, 2:06 PM
Fantastically Fervent MoneySaving Super Fan
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: at home
Posts: 7,605
Default

It's easy simply plug in DVD recorder and play
"A nation's greatness is measured by how it treats its weakest members." ~ Mahatma Ghandi
Ride hard or stay home
missile is offline
Report Post
The Following User Says Thank You to missile For This Useful Post: Show me >>
# 3
petrichor
Old 29-01-2007, 2:35 PM
Serious MoneySaving Fan
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Planet Petrichor where everything has that after storm fresh smell
Posts: 942
Default

Sorry missile but it's not a simple as that, well not for me anyway. I've plugged in my recordable dvd and despite trying various things I can't get it to record from my sky+ box, it works ok when I record from a tv channel. Any further advice please?
petrichor is offline
Report Post
# 4
missile
Old 29-01-2007, 3:01 PM
Fantastically Fervent MoneySaving Super Fan
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: at home
Posts: 7,605
Default

The way I do it is to play a program recorded on Sky+ box on the telly and hit record on my DVD recorder. My DVD has the facility to auto-record but I have never used it.

FYI: There is an option on the Sky+ planner menu "COPY" but that does not work on my system. I have a Panasonic TV and DVD recorder. Previously I recorded by the same method onto a Sony VCR.

I hope this helps? If not you can phone Sky. Tell them your Sky box is not working properly and ask for an engineer to call, this service is free.
"A nation's greatness is measured by how it treats its weakest members." ~ Mahatma Ghandi
Ride hard or stay home
missile is offline
Report Post
The Following User Says Thank You to missile For This Useful Post: Show me >>
# 5
missile
Old 01-02-2007, 2:06 PM
Fantastically Fervent MoneySaving Super Fan
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: at home
Posts: 7,605
Default

dfdemello,

I am glad it worked out for you
"A nation's greatness is measured by how it treats its weakest members." ~ Mahatma Ghandi
Ride hard or stay home
missile is offline
Report Post
# 6
ukcompo
Old 01-02-2007, 2:17 PM
MoneySaving Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 10
Default

i run it so that my sky+ box plugs via scart to my DVD recorder and then that via a scart cable plugs into my TV, the DVD recorder is set to display the picture from the Sky+ box by choosing which line input the scart cable from the sky+ box is coming in on.

and it is as easy as pressing playing on my sky+ recorded program and pressing record on my DVD recorder. So therefore you are capturing the image being sent from the sky+ box to the TV.

Just note many Sky films, and even some discovery channel content is protected so you won't be able to record the info
:: No Unapproved Links in Signatures - FM ::
ukcompo is offline
Report Post
# 7
blisteringblue
Old 01-02-2007, 2:30 PM
MoneySaving Stalwart
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: North West
Posts: 608
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by petrichor
Sorry missile but it's not a simple as that, well not for me anyway. I've plugged in my recordable dvd and despite trying various things I can't get it to record from my sky+ box, it works ok when I record from a tv channel. Any further advice please?
When you select the recording channel on your DVD recorder make sure it corresponds to the correct av socket you have your scart connected to. Either AV1 or AV2

Note if you want RGB scart quality you must connect to AV1 on the Sky+ box as the AV2 Recorder scart socket is composite only

Once the correct channel is selected you should be able to use either the sky copy facility or just play and record.
blisteringblue is offline
Report Post
# 8
everythingblogcast
Old 01-02-2007, 2:44 PM
PPR
Serious MoneySaving Fan
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,220
Default

Some send a copy block so that you can not record. All so you can only kept recorded TV for 28 days due to copyright laws.
everythingblogcast is offline
Report Post
# 9
waster
Old 01-02-2007, 2:59 PM
MoneySaving Stalwart
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 497
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by missile
................

I hope this helps? If not you can phone Sky. Tell them your Sky box is not working properly and ask for an engineer to call, this service is free.
It's only free if less than a year old. Otherwise the standard Sky call out fee will apply. Was £60 per call out. If it's the box that's at fault, the enginner will probably replace it with a refurb - probably an Amstrad. If it is replaced you'll lose all your recordings with the original box!
waster is offline
Report Post
# 10
missile
Old 01-02-2007, 3:23 PM
Fantastically Fervent MoneySaving Super Fan
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: at home
Posts: 7,605
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by waster
It's only free if less than a year old. Otherwise the standard Sky call out fee will apply. Was £60 per call out. If it's the box that's at fault, the enginner will probably replace it with a refurb - probably an Amstrad. If it is replaced you'll lose all your recordings with the original box!
If they try to charge you, simply say in that case I want to cancel the subscription I am not paying for something which does not work. They transfer you to customer retention and "hey presto" they send the man for free. It works, I have done it.
"A nation's greatness is measured by how it treats its weakest members." ~ Mahatma Ghandi
Ride hard or stay home
missile is offline
Report Post
# 11
Bambers
Old 01-02-2007, 3:35 PM
MoneySaving Convert
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 96
Default

slightly off topic, but i have a usb port on the from of my box, what is it for?
Bambers is offline
Report Post
# 12
blisteringblue
Old 01-02-2007, 3:53 PM
MoneySaving Stalwart
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: North West
Posts: 608
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bambers
slightly off topic, but i have a usb port on the from of my box, what is it for?
Nothing as of yet, sky list it "for future use" but we will see if they ever turn it on. Its the same with my Sky HD it has several add ons for future use but I bet we never see any of those either.
blisteringblue is offline
Report Post
The Following User Says Thank You to blisteringblue For This Useful Post: Show me >>
# 13
ringo_24601
Old 01-02-2007, 3:58 PM
Deliciously Dedicated Diehard MoneySaving Devotee
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 13,386
Default

Nothing... yet, i presume you have the 160gb Sky+ box. You'll also find another USB port at the back. If you like you can use them to charge USB devices, but that's all
ringo_24601 is online now
Report Post
The Following User Says Thank You to ringo_24601 For This Useful Post: Show me >>
# 14
dappyhel
Old 26-05-2008, 4:09 PM
MoneySaving Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 12
Default

Is there any way to copy from Sky Plus to a video recorder? As someone mentioned earlier there is the option to Copy on Sky Plus by pressing the red button when you're in the planner section but nothing seems to happen. :confused:
dappyhel is offline
Report Post
# 15
geewhiz
Old 26-05-2008, 4:51 PM
Serious MoneySaving Fan
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,100
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dappyhel View Post
Is there any way to copy from Sky Plus to a video recorder? As someone mentioned earlier there is the option to Copy on Sky Plus by pressing the red button when you're in the planner section but nothing seems to happen. :confused:
You need to have a scart or coax cable running out of your Sky+ box into your VCR.

You then select the correct channel on the VCR, usually something like AV1 if you have used a scart, then just press record.

The red button copy option in the sky+ menu is there so you can play several programs one after the other to allow you to copy them as one program, so you set say 5 shows to Copy using the red button then you press select and it will play them all continuously until they are finished, it will also tell you how long this will take.
geewhiz is offline
Report Post
# 16
martynelmy
Old 07-09-2010, 12:17 PM
MoneySaving Convert
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Bedfordshire
Posts: 31
Thumbs up simple guide to copying from sky+ to vcr or dvd

As long as the DVD / VCR are connected correctly (select SCART-RGB) to the Sky+ box
If you only one HDMI on the recorder use this for direct connection to the TV (assuming TV has 2 x HDMI inputs for HD)
alongside the HDMI from the Sky+ box.

You should be able to use the procedure below to record the programmes you have stored on your Sky+ system.



Copy to VCR / DVD procedure in the old EPG (no preview window)
Press TV guide on the Sky Remote Control.
Press the green button to display the Sky+ Planner.
Use the up/down arrows to highlight the programme to be copied.
Press the red button to mark the programme as Copy.
Repeat steps 3 to 4 for each programme to be copied as required.
When all desired programmes are marked as Copy press the select button.
Enter your PIN if requested.
When the information banner appears, press record on the VCR / DVD recorder
then press select on the Sky Remote Control very quickly to ensure the Sky+ does not jump to the next screen.
A confirmation screen will appear showing the programme information.
After this the programme will start to play out.

or

Copy to VCR / DVD procedure in the new EPG (with preview window)
Press TV guide on the Sky Remote Control.
Press the green button to display the Sky+ Planner.
Use the up / down arrows to highlight the programme to be copied.
Use the left / right arrows to select options (!) for the recording
Press the green button to mark the programme as Copy.
Repeat steps 3 to 5 for each programme to be copied as required.
When all desired programmes are marked as Copy press the select button.
Enter your PIN if requested.
When the information banner appears, press record on the VCR o/r DVD recorder
then press select on the Sky Remote Control very quickly to ensure the Sky+ does not jump to the next screen.
A confirmation screen will appear and this will shortly be replaced by the search and scan banner showing the programme information.
After this the programme will start to play out.



It is not possible to watch another channel on Sky+ while a programme is being copied.
Some movies and PPV events are copyright protected, they cannot be recorded
or are unable to be played back on a VCR / DVD recorder without picture distortion.
You can speak with Sky technical team on 08442 411 411 who will assist you further.

martynelmy is offline
Report Post
The Following User Says Thank You to martynelmy For This Useful Post: Show me >>
# 17
DatabaseError
Old 07-09-2010, 2:08 PM
Fantastically Fervent MoneySaving Super Fan
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: halifax, uk
Posts: 4,020
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JasX View Post
Why are you digging up threads from 2007?

kindly stay offf the internet till you work out how it works.....

thx
hey - last post was only a little over 2 years ago, i bet the guy is grateful the answers finally came
Utinam logica falsa tuam philosophiam totam suffodiant.
DatabaseError is offline
Report Post
# 18
BigLee_24
Old 07-09-2010, 4:29 PM
MoneySaving Convert
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Durham
Posts: 150
Default

lol better late than never..........
BigLee_24 is offline
Report Post
# 19
BlueCheese
Old 08-09-2010, 11:40 AM
MoneySaving Convert
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 11
Default

Lolzoroflkopter
BlueCheese is offline
Report Post
# 20
augie
Old 08-09-2010, 2:12 PM
MoneySaving Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by martynelmy View Post
As long as the DVD / VCR are connected correctly (select SCART-RGB) to the Sky+ box
If you only one HDMI on the recorder use this for direct connection to the TV (assuming TV has 2 x HDMI inputs for HD)
alongside the HDMI from the Sky+ box.

You should be able to use the procedure below to record the programmes you have stored on your Sky+ system.



Copy to VCR / DVD procedure in the old EPG (no preview window)
Press TV guide on the Sky Remote Control.
Press the green button to display the Sky+ Planner.
Use the up/down arrows to highlight the programme to be copied.
Press the red button to mark the programme as Copy.
Repeat steps 3 to 4 for each programme to be copied as required.
When all desired programmes are marked as Copy press the select button.
Enter your PIN if requested.
When the information banner appears, press record on the VCR / DVD recorder
then press select on the Sky Remote Control very quickly to ensure the Sky+ does not jump to the next screen.
A confirmation screen will appear showing the programme information.
After this the programme will start to play out.

or

Copy to VCR / DVD procedure in the new EPG (with preview window)
Press TV guide on the Sky Remote Control.
Press the green button to display the Sky+ Planner.
Use the up / down arrows to highlight the programme to be copied.
Use the left / right arrows to select options (!) for the recording
Press the green button to mark the programme as Copy.
Repeat steps 3 to 5 for each programme to be copied as required.
When all desired programmes are marked as Copy press the select button.
Enter your PIN if requested.
When the information banner appears, press record on the VCR o/r DVD recorder
then press select on the Sky Remote Control very quickly to ensure the Sky+ does not jump to the next screen.
A confirmation screen will appear and this will shortly be replaced by the search and scan banner showing the programme information.
After this the programme will start to play out.



It is not possible to watch another channel on Sky+ while a programme is being copied.
Some movies and PPV events are copyright protected, they cannot be recorded
or are unable to be played back on a VCR / DVD recorder without picture distortion.
You can speak with Sky technical team on 08442 411 411 who will assist you further.

I follow all of this and use it but I still have a major problem......when I transfer programmes from my sky + HD box to a dvd the volume comes out really low and makes it necessary to plau earphones in when I am using it on my portable dvd player. I also have the regular sky + box in another room and do not have this volume control issue when transferring from that box to dvd's but I have a number of programmes on the sky HD box that I need to transfer and would appreciate any advice on this matter

PS When I contacted sky they told me that it was a copyright issue but surely the same copyrights would be on both boxes ??
augie is offline
Report Post
Closed Thread

Bookmarks
 
 




Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

 Forum Jump  

Contact Us - MoneySavingExpert.com - Archive - Privacy Statement - Top

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

All times are GMT. The time now is 8:30 AM.

 Forum Jump  

Free MoneySaving Email

Top deals: Week of 29 October 2014

Get all this & more in MoneySavingExpert's weekly email full of guides, vouchers and Deals

GET THIS FREE WEEKLY EMAIL Full of deals, guides & it's spam free

Latest News & Blogs

Martin's Twitter Feed

profile
  • Going off line to focus on 4OD (don't think this means you're all forgiven!)
  • RT @ParkesJane: @MartinSLewis 6 bottles of champagne from Sainsburys arrived today, £50 including delivery! Thank you very much.
  • I'm deeply unhappy with all of you. Not one Twitter follower had the courtesy to tell me a new series of Big Bang was on! Shame on you

Cheap Travel Money

Find the best online rate for holiday cash with MSE's TravelMoneyMax.

Find the best online rate for your holiday cash with MoneySavingExpert's TravelMoneyMax.

TuneChecker Top Albums

  • VARIOUS ARTISTSBBC RADIO 1'S LIVE LOUNGE 2014
  • TAYLOR SWIFT1989 (DELUXE)
  • ED SHEERANX (DELUXE EDITION)

MSE's Twitter Feed

profile
Always remember anyone can post on the MSE forums, so it can be very different from our opinion.
We use Skimlinks and other affiliated links in some of our boards, for some of our users.