Main site > MoneySavingExpert.com Forums > Essential Money > Mortgages & Endowments > HELP! Converting Residential mortgage to Buy-To-L... (Page 1)

IMPORTANT! This is MoneySavingExpert's open forum - anyone can post

Please exercise caution & report any spam, illegal, offensive, racist, libellous post to forumteam@moneysavingexpert.com

• Be nice to all MoneySavers
  • All the best tips go in the MoneySavingExpert weekly email

Plus all the new guides, deals & loopholes

• No spam/referral links
or Login with Facebook
HELP! Converting Residential mortgage to Buy-To-Let?
Closed Thread
Views: 8,171
# 1
hazysunshine
Old 13-01-2007, 12:44 PM
MoneySaving Convert

Exclamation HELP! Converting Residential mortgage to Buy-To-Let?

Hello everyone!

I'm a newbie here!

I recently bought a flat for £103,000 using a residential mortgage and paid a 5% deposit. My circumstances have now changed and I can't move in. I completed in November and it's still empty.

I don't want to sell the place, and I was wondering how easy is it to change my mortgage to a Buy-To-Let?

My mortgage advisor says that if I ask my mortgage company to change so soon after completing, that it will look as if I did it purposely, in order not to pay a higher deposit associated with Buy-To-Let mortgages.

I want to let it out, because I'm paying rent AND a mortgage. Can I go ahead, let it out to a tenant, keep quiet with the mortgage company and maybe, after a while, notify them that I want to change it to a Buy-To-Let?

What is the process with converting a residential mortgage to a Buy-To-Let? Do I have to pay a lump sum that I would have ordinarily paid as a bigger deposit when I took out the mortgage?

I am aware that my interest rate will increase - that is not a problem, but if they also demand a further lump sum of money, to increase my initial deposit value, then I have a problem, as I don't have that sort of money to hand.

Any help, suggestions and advice would be much appreciated - thanks