Main site > MoneySavingExpert.com Forums > Household & Travel > In my home (includes DIY) MoneySaving > How to wire in a new electric cooker..? (Page 1)

IMPORTANT! This is MoneySavingExpert's open forum - anyone can post

Please exercise caution & report any spam, illegal, offensive, racist, libellous post to forumteam@moneysavingexpert.com

• Be nice to all MoneySavers
  • All the best tips go in the MoneySavingExpert weekly email

Plus all the new guides, deals & loopholes

• No spam/referral links
or Login with Facebook
How to wire in a new electric cooker..?
Closed Thread
Views: 138,449
# 1
Samphire
Old 12-12-2006, 2:54 PM
MoneySaving Convert

Default How to wire in a new electric cooker..?

Help! I'm a newbie here and a novice DIY-er (as is my husband). My oven is dying by inches, and as I can't face more burnt biscuits and undercooked stews at Christmas time I've pushed the boat out and bought a new one. I found the model I wanted online from the Co-Op electricals much cheaper than at Comet and have ordered it (it's arriving on Tuesday), but they don't offer a fitting service. It's a built in double oven model, replacing a built in single oven which is also electric. I didn't think we could legally wire this in ourselves, but a friend has told me that if there's an existing cooker circuit its OK. Anyone know if this is true, and what's involved in wiring in a cooker?
# 2
weekendwarrior
Old 12-12-2006, 3:26 PM
Serious MoneySaving Fan

I am a bit confused here, have you purchased an oven or a cooker?

If you have purchased a double oven to replace a single oven then you may be in for a shock as the double oven may require a dedicated circuit.

A single electric oven can normally be wired to a plug and plugged into a socket, if you have a dedicated circuit there already then this will need checking to ensure it can carry the load of the new oven.