PLEASE READ BEFORE POSTING

Hello Forumites! In order to help keep the Forum a useful, safe and friendly place for our users, discussions around non-MoneySaving matters are not permitted per the Forum rules. While we understand that mentioning house prices may sometimes be relevant to a user's specific MoneySaving situation, we ask that you please avoid veering into broad, general debates about the market, the economy and politics, as these can unfortunately lead to abusive or hateful behaviour. Threads that are found to have derailed into wider discussions may be removed. Users who repeatedly disregard this may have their Forum account banned. Please also avoid posting personally identifiable information, including links to your own online property listing which may reveal your address. Thank you for your understanding.

What does no DSS actually mean?.......

Options
Hello,
This is probably a stupid question, but I am new to renting and just wanted some clarification on the above terms. I know that it refers to housing benefit etc, but wondered as to the actual details. We are looking to rent a property for around £700 per month and based on our earnings etc, will be entitled to a small amount of housing benefit, about £20 per week. Having never claimed any benefits other than child benefit and the usual basic child tax credit, having a bit of help with our rent would be quite nice:). However, if it means that we are limited to DSS accepting landlords and letting agents, we will struggle to find anywhere. Does anyone have any experience of this? Thank you in advance:)
Not as silly as I was thanks to MSE:)

Comments

• Matt1977
    Matt1977 Posts: 300 Forumite
    Options
    'DSS' is a bit of a '1980s' term. DSS stands for the now defunct 'Department of Social Security. Basically, the landlord doesn't want to entertain anyone claiming any unemployment benefit or incapacity benefit because of a theory that they are less likely to pay the rent than employed people.