Executor - expenses

Options
As executor, what expenses am I able to claim from the estate and what evidence do I need to establish a claim?

Travel to the property is 250 miles by car so that's one aspect that concerns me. Is this allowable? Should I record mileage and / or keep petrol receipts?

Stamps? (A list of correspondance or a receipt for stamps?)
Phone calls?
Death notice in the Times?
Flat management charge (it's a leasehold property).
Utility bills for the property.
Insurance for property contents.
Funeral.

Anything else I've missed?

I know I need to open an "Estate account". Is it OK to put a sum of my money into this from my own finances, to be paid back when I distribute the estate? Should I bother charging interest on such a loan?

This is my first time. Do let me know if I ought to be in another forum.

Thanks in advance.

Comments

• Biggles
    Biggles Posts: 8,209 Forumite
    Combo Breaker First Post
    edited 14 February 2011 at 9:33AM
    Options
    As executor, what expenses am I able to claim from the estate and what evidence do I need to establish a claim?

Travel to the property is 250 miles by car so that's one aspect that concerns me. Is this allowable? Should I record mileage and / or keep petrol receipts?

Stamps? (A list of correspondance or a receipt for stamps?)
    Phone calls?
    All these are expenses you have incurred and reimbursement is quite in order. For simplicity, stick to a mileage allowance for the travel. Just a list of letters sent would be sufficient for postage. But make sure all your expenses are reasonable, as you may well be called to account for them.

Death notice in the Times?
    Flat management charge (it's a leasehold property).
    Utility bills for the property.
    Insurance for property contents.
    Funeral
    All these are the direct costs of the estate; no problem there but, as before, it is your duty to minimise them where possible, eg by terminating the lease as soon as is practicable.