Main site > MoneySavingExpert.com Forums > Household & Travel > Techie Stuff > Freeview problem - where's Channel 5 gone? (Page 1)

IMPORTANT! This is MoneySavingExpert's open forum - anyone can post

Please exercise caution & report any spam, illegal, offensive, racist, libellous post to forumteam@moneysavingexpert.com

  • Be nice to all MoneySavers
  • All the best tips go in the MoneySavingExpert weekly email

    Plus all the new guides, deals & loopholes

  • No spam/referral links
or Login with Facebook
Freeview problem - where's Channel 5 gone?
Closed Thread
Views: 1,952
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
# 1
YBNB
Old 31-10-2006, 12:26 PM
MoneySaving Convert
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 163
Default Freeview problem - where's Channel 5 gone?

Bought a freeview box for our bedroom about a month ago. All channels there, some signals stronger than other but on the whole fine, and delighted with my 25 value for money.

However, in the past few days, Channel 5 has stopped working altogether. All the other channels are working fine, and if I plug the aerial into the telly, old-stylie, the reception for C5 is fine.

Any ideas? I'm stumped.

Thanks in advance!

It's gilt-edged, glamorous and sleek by design
You know it's jealous by nature, false and unkind
It's hard and restrained and it's totally cool
It touches and it teases as you stumble in the debris.
YBNB is offline
Report Post
# 2
espresso
Old 31-10-2006, 12:35 PM
Deliciously Dedicated Diehard MoneySaving Devotee
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 16,005
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by YBNB
However, in the past few days, Channel 5 has stopped working altogether. All the other channels are working fine, and if I plug the aerial into the telly, old-stylie, the reception for C5 is fine.
So you are comparing CH5 analogue with CH5 digital then! CH5 may not even come from the same transmitter on analogue as the other terrestrial channels do. (it doesn't here)

Have you tried re-scanning? CH5 digital is transmitted on Mux A and you should be able to check the received signal strength somewhere in the set-up screens.

HTH
espresso is offline
Report Post
The Following User Says Thank You to espresso For This Useful Post: Show me >>
# 3
YBNB
Old 05-11-2006, 8:50 PM
MoneySaving Convert
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 163
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by espresso
So you are comparing CH5 analogue with CH5 digital then! CH5 may not even come from the same transmitter on analogue as the other terrestrial channels do. (it doesn't here)

Have you tried re-scanning? CH5 digital is transmitted on Mux A and you should be able to check the received signal strength somewhere in the set-up screens.

HTH
Thanks. I'll try this out tomorrow.

It was working to begin with though (on Freeview) which is why I'm very confused.

It's gilt-edged, glamorous and sleek by design
You know it's jealous by nature, false and unkind
It's hard and restrained and it's totally cool
It touches and it teases as you stumble in the debris.
YBNB is offline
Report Post
# 4
molerat
Old 05-11-2006, 9:26 PM
Deliciously Dedicated Diehard MoneySaving Devotee
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: very north of the border
Posts: 10,912
Default

Have you got any of these other channels, the MUXA lineup.

TELE G, ABC 1, QVC, UKTV GOLD, BID TV, PRICE DROP TV, TCM, UKTV STYLE, DISCOVERY, UKTV FOOD, BRIT EUROSPORT, FIVE US, FIVE LIFE, TOPUP ANYTIME 1, TOPUP ANYTIME 2, TOPUP ANYTIME 3, DISCOVERY RT, CARTOON NET, TEACHERS TV, TELEVISION X, T TEXT HOLS, BBC R1, BBC R2, BBC R3, BBC R4, HEAT, MOJO.

If not then do a rescan and hopefully they will all come back Sometimes the boxes mysteriously lose channels :confused:
molerat is online now
Report Post
The Following User Says Thank You to molerat For This Useful Post: Show me >>
# 5
YBNB
Old 06-11-2006, 3:14 PM
MoneySaving Convert
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 163
Default

I've got several of them, certainly BBC1, BBC2, ITV, QVC for starters....

It's gilt-edged, glamorous and sleek by design
You know it's jealous by nature, false and unkind
It's hard and restrained and it's totally cool
It touches and it teases as you stumble in the debris.
YBNB is offline
Report Post
# 6
tawnyowls
Old 06-11-2006, 3:42 PM
Serious MoneySaving Fan
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1,785
Default

It does happen sometimes - sometimes the boxes (less so with the integrated TVs but still occasionally) decide randomly to rescan from the beginning and if you're unlucky enough to have that happen while a channel has shut down for the night (or day) or if the signal's bad that particular time, it just won't pick it up. Rescanning usually finds them again.
tawnyowls is offline
Report Post
The Following User Says Thank You to tawnyowls For This Useful Post: Show me >>
# 7
YBNB
Old 07-11-2006, 12:21 PM
MoneySaving Convert
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 163
Default

Many thanks to Tawny, Espresso and Mole. I re-scanned and Channel 5 is back!

It's gilt-edged, glamorous and sleek by design
You know it's jealous by nature, false and unkind
It's hard and restrained and it's totally cool
It touches and it teases as you stumble in the debris.
YBNB is offline
Report Post
# 8
effinell!!
Old 07-11-2006, 5:59 PM
MoneySaving Convert
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Derbyshire
Posts: 18
Default

My mother has a similar problem I think.

She has freeview and can get C5 but cannot get the new Five US or Five Life do we need to re-scan?. When she goes to Ch35 she gets Quiz Time.

I'm not techie so simple help please.
effinell!! is offline
Report Post
# 9
espresso
Old 07-11-2006, 6:04 PM
Deliciously Dedicated Diehard MoneySaving Devotee
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 16,005
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by effinell!!
My mother has a similar problem I think.

She has freeview and can get C5 but cannot get the new Five US or Five Life do we need to re-scan?. When she goes to Ch35 she gets Quiz Time.

I'm not techie so simple help please.
It depends on the receiver, some will automatically scan on switch on but if the new channels are only on at certain times of the day, they may not be found and added to the menu. Re-scanning should find new channels if they are transmitting, so give it a go!
espresso is offline
Report Post
The Following User Says Thank You to espresso For This Useful Post: Show me >>
# 10
tawnyowls
Old 07-11-2006, 7:02 PM
Serious MoneySaving Fan
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1,785
Default

Most of them seem to transmit pre-6pm, so it's worth trying then rather than later.
tawnyowls is offline
Report Post
# 11
Andrew L.
Old 07-11-2006, 8:05 PM
MoneySaving Convert
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 17
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by espresso
It depends on the receiver, some will automatically scan on switch on but if the new channels are only on at certain times of the day, they may not be found and added to the menu. Re-scanning should find new channels if they are transmitting, so give it a go!

My problem is the PERMANENT disappearance of Freeview Channels 82 and 83 (Sky News and Sky Sports News), although I get Sky 3. No amount of scanning brings them back. Other Channels show strong signal strength and surely Sky don't transmit the missing channels at a lower strength? Any other suggestions? Thanks:confused:
Andrew L. is offline
Report Post
Closed Thread

Bookmarks
 
 




Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

 Forum Jump  

Contact Us - MoneySavingExpert.com - Archive - Privacy Statement - Top

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

All times are GMT +1. The time now is 7:29 PM.

 Forum Jump  

Free MoneySaving Email

Top deals: Week of 15 October 2014

Get all this & more in MoneySavingExpert's weekly email full of guides, vouchers and Deals

GET THIS FREE WEEKLY EMAIL Full of deals, guides & it's spam free

Latest News & Blogs

Martin's Twitter Feed

profile

Cheap Travel Money

Find the best online rate for holiday cash with MSE's TravelMoneyMax.

Find the best online rate for your holiday cash with MoneySavingExpert's TravelMoneyMax.

TuneChecker Top Albums

  • ED SHEERANX (DELUXE EDITION)
  • ELLA HENDERSONCHAPTER ONE (DELUXE VERSION)
  • STATUS QUOAQUOSTIC (STRIPPED BARE)

MSE's Twitter Feed

profile
Always remember anyone can post on the MSE forums, so it can be very different from our opinion.
We use Skimlinks and other affiliated links in some of our boards, for some of our users.