Main site > MoneySavingExpert.com Forums > Household & Travel > In my home (includes DIY) MoneySaving > Gas cooker keeps cutting out - repair or replace? (Page 1)

IMPORTANT! This is MoneySavingExpert's open forum - anyone can post

Please exercise caution & report any spam, illegal, offensive, racist, libellous post to forumteam@moneysavingexpert.com

  • Be nice to all MoneySavers
  • All the best tips go in the MoneySavingExpert weekly email

    Plus all the new guides, deals & loopholes

  • No spam/referral links
or Login with Facebook
Gas cooker keeps cutting out - repair or replace?
Closed Thread
Views: 6,678
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
# 1
jennyjelly
Old 13-03-2010, 2:54 PM
Serious MoneySaving Fan
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Somerset cider country
Posts: 1,692
Default Gas cooker keeps cutting out - repair or replace?

We have a Stoves gas cooker which is about 10 years old. Recently we have had a problem whereby if you turn the oven down during cooking it goes off (of course you don't realise this until your guests arrive and you go to the oven to take out your nice long-slowcooked dish ....)

Is there anyone out there with enough knowledge of gas cookers to hazard a guess at the cause of this? Could it just be due to age or should we be getting someone in to repair it? I don't really want to spend what could be a deposit for a new one on an old crock unless I can get several more years out of it.

If we do decide to buy a new one, the one that appeals to me is the Cannon C60GCIK. Although it's 650 in Currys, Argos are selling it for 442 (491 less 10% before 16th March) so we need to make a decision quickly! Does anyone have any experience of this cooker? I can't find much in the way of reviews for it.

Hope someone can help.

Thanks for reading!
Oh dear, here we go again.
jennyjelly is offline
Report Post
# 2
jennyjelly
Old 13-03-2010, 3:15 PM
Serious MoneySaving Fan
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Somerset cider country
Posts: 1,692
Default

Update to OP - I've now found loads of reviews on the Cannon so if we have to replace that's the one it will be.

Still hoping someone can advise whether to repair or replace though!
Oh dear, here we go again.
jennyjelly is offline
Report Post
# 3
gas4you
Old 13-03-2010, 5:22 PM
Fantastically Fervent MoneySaving Super Fan
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Norfolk
Posts: 2,587
Default

Could simply need a good clean, service and adjustment by a cooker qualified Gas Safe engineer.

What does the flame look like on the hob burners, still as big as before?

If not could be the govenor on the meter has stuck, or needs adjusting to supply the correct gas pressure.

Natioanl Grid will do this FOC.
gas4you is offline
Report Post
# 4
jennyjelly
Old 13-03-2010, 5:39 PM
Serious MoneySaving Fan
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Somerset cider country
Posts: 1,692
Default

Thanks for the reply gas4you.

The hob is fine, and the grill, it's just the oven that's become unreliable.

Do you think it's worth spending money on one of this age? I'm not really sure how long they are supposed to last!
Oh dear, here we go again.
jennyjelly is offline
Report Post
# 5
phill99
Old 13-03-2010, 6:49 PM
Fantastically Fervent MoneySaving Super Fan
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 5,692
Default

I think gas4you is right. For a qualified person, its probably straightforward. I would hazard at a couple of hours work and a part. maybe 100 tops. Stoves is a decent brand, so maybe worth trying to extend its life.
phill99 is offline
Report Post
The Following User Says Thank You to phill99 For This Useful Post: Show me >>
# 6
jennyjelly
Old 13-03-2010, 7:35 PM
Serious MoneySaving Fan
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Somerset cider country
Posts: 1,692
Default

Thanks phill99. I've decided to get someone to come on Monday or Tuesday then if it's fixable well and good but if it's not I still have time to take advantage of Argos's 10% off.

Simples!
Oh dear, here we go again.
jennyjelly is offline
Report Post
# 7
premkit
Old 13-03-2010, 7:47 PM
MoneySaving Convert
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: north west
Posts: 186
Default

clean the burner and all around. this will be the first thing the engineer will do.
a lot of fat/oil clogs openings up.
premkit is offline
Report Post
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to premkit For This Useful Post: Show me >>
# 8
jennyjelly
Old 13-03-2010, 8:35 PM
Serious MoneySaving Fan
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Somerset cider country
Posts: 1,692
Default

I've poked around in the back of the oven floor and some of it seems to be inaccessible but I've cleaned as much of the burner as I can. I have to say it was disgustingly greasy and horrible, so maybe that's the problem. When I clean it I must admit I tend to do the bottom, sides and shelves and steer clear of the 'business' bits in case I touch something I shouldn't and cause a problem, so the burner bit hasn't ever really had a good clean. I'm embarrassed now!

So that I can test it tomorrow I'm cooking slow roasted leg of lamb which needs several hours on a very low heat. I'll make a point of turning it up and down several times and see what happens. I do hope it works, but at least the lamb won't spoil if it doesn't, and we still have Monday and Tuesday to get someone in.

Thanks for all the help.
Oh dear, here we go again.
jennyjelly is offline
Report Post
# 9
dixie dean
Old 15-03-2010, 1:32 PM
Serious MoneySaving Fan
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Leeds
Posts: 1,678
Default

Well? How goes it? This is like who killed archie all over again.
And if, you know, your history...
dixie dean is offline
Report Post
# 10
jennyjelly
Old 16-03-2010, 12:05 PM
Serious MoneySaving Fan
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Somerset cider country
Posts: 1,692
Default

Yay, it worked! Slow roast lamb on Sunday with not a glitch. Turned it up and down a few times during the afternoon to see, even turned it down to 2 at one point, and it didn't go out once.

I'm really embarrassed that I could let it get dirty enough to stop working! The rest of if was clean but the burner never was touched - now that I know I can clean it without doing any damage I'll make sure to include it every time I clean the rest from now on.

Just one more thing, don't know whether anybody can comment on this - where the wall meets the floor right behind the cooker the builders have left a gap and in blustery weather there is a bit of draught coming through it. DH reckons that when you turn the oven down the flame goes very small for a while and this draught would be enough to blow it out, so he has filled up the hole. Could this be something to do with it?

Anyway, thanks to everyone for your help, you've saved us the cost of a new oven!
Oh dear, here we go again.
jennyjelly is offline
Report Post
The Following User Says Thank You to jennyjelly For This Useful Post: Show me >>
# 11
BEAT THE DEBT
Old 20-11-2011, 5:22 PM
Serious MoneySaving Fan
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 1,826
Default

Hi i have a diplomat cooker and even on a low heat the gas flames are high making it cut out any ideas?
6 years to freedom! Beating the debt!!!
BEAT THE DEBT is offline
Report Post
# 12
karl-123
Old 21-11-2011, 7:04 PM
MoneySaving Stalwart
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: near the seaside
Posts: 360
Default clean your burner

dirty burner assembly,

spray it with cooker cleaner,

and rinse well,

new thermostat or fsd ( flame safety device, that sits in the flame )

probably a dirty burner use cooker cleaner and a welding torch
file tip file,to unblock the grease, bye karl...
karl-123 is offline
Report Post
The Following User Says Thank You to karl-123 For This Useful Post: Show me >>
# 13
karl-123
Old 21-11-2011, 7:38 PM
MoneySaving Stalwart
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: near the seaside
Posts: 360
Default

ps dont fanny about with your fsd that lays in your burner,
as they are temperamental,and can snap,

a bit like my girlfriend .......
karl-123 is offline
Report Post
The Following User Says Thank You to karl-123 For This Useful Post: Show me >>
# 14
carefullycautious
Old 21-11-2011, 8:33 PM
Serious MoneySaving Fan
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 1,495
Default

The burners on my 16 year old cannon automatic cooker had become weaker with hardly any gas coming out of them even though I had cleaned and cleaned.

I purchased a portable steam cleaner from a well know TV company and gave my cooker a good blast with it and it has come up like new.

Im hoping to get another 16 years out of it.
carefullycautious is offline
Report Post
Closed Thread

Bookmarks
 
 




Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

 Forum Jump  

Contact Us - MoneySavingExpert.com - Archive - Privacy Statement - Top

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

All times are GMT +1. The time now is 8:53 AM.

 Forum Jump  

Free MoneySaving Email

Top deals: Week of 23 April 2014

Get all this & more in MoneySavingExpert's weekly email full of guides, vouchers and Deals

GET THIS FREE WEEKLY EMAIL Full of deals, guides & it's spam free

Latest News & Blogs

Martin's Twitter Feed

profile

Cheap Travel Money

Find the best online rate for holiday cash with MSE's TravelMoneyMax.

Find the best online rate for your holiday cash with MoneySavingExpert's TravelMoneyMax.

TuneChecker Top Albums

  • VARIOUS ARTISTSNOW THAT'S WHAT I CALL MUSIC! 87
  • VARIOUS ARTISTSFROZEN (ORIGINAL MOTION PICTURE SOUNDTRACK)
  • VARIOUS ARTISTSEUPHORIC CLUBLAND 2

MSE's Twitter Feed

profile
Always remember anyone can post on the MSE forums, so it can be very different from our opinion.
We use Skimlinks and other affiliated links in some of our boards, for some of our users.