Main site > MoneySavingExpert.com Forums > Household & Travel > Energy > electricity meters with different day/night tarif... (Page 1)

IMPORTANT! This is MoneySavingExpert's open forum - anyone can post

Please exercise caution & report any spam, illegal, offensive, racist, libellous post to forumteam@moneysavingexpert.com

  • Be nice to all MoneySavers
  • All the best tips go in the MoneySavingExpert weekly email

    Plus all the new guides, deals & loopholes

  • No spam/referral links
or Login with Facebook
electricity meters with different day/night tariffs
Closed Thread
Views: 13,905
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
# 1
chrisz
Old 05-09-2008, 12:57 PM
MoneySaving Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 1
Default electricity meters with different day/night tariffs

Anyone who has an electricity meter that automatically switches between day and night rates (such as Economy7) should ensure that their meter timer is in sync with the actual times that night rates apply. Otherwise like myself you may find the meter has switched on appliances such as storage heaters or the immerson heater an hour or more before the night rate start and for that hour or more you will be charged day rate electricity

Every time you are subject to a power cut this could put your meters timer out of sync. If you find this has happened you shoud contact you supplier and ask them to arrange for an engineer to call to adjust the timer.

Please bear in mind -none of the suppliers will ever make you aware that this can happen if there is a power failure.
chrisz is offline
Report Post
# 2
JohnnyM
Old 05-09-2008, 3:11 PM
MoneySaving Convert
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 64
Default

Until recently I had an electricity meter where the timer was 5 hours out. I realised this after overpaying electric for 2 years thinking I was using night time electricity through the night!!!

Anyway, Scottish Power arranged for a new meter to be installed. The old meter timer was powered by a quartz timer which in time becomes unreliable. The new timer (I was told by the engineer) is powered by the electricity with a back up battery (rechargable? not sure, cant remember) in the event of a power cut.

So if you have timer issues, just call your supplier and they arrange a new meter.


Incidentally, I asked for some money back on my overpayment and they got me to read my meters after a couple of weeks saying that they would use that usage to recalculate the bills. Anyway, my usage was 11% (day) and 89% (night). So they applied 30% (Day) and 70% (night) to the recalculation! When I asked why, they said they just apply the national average!!! What was the point of taking meter readings after 2 weeks if you are going to skank me at the end of it??? I have had no joy in getting any extra back off them and am unlikely to either. So I think I will be moving suppliers.
JohnnyM is offline
Report Post
# 3
dunloadin
Old 05-09-2008, 9:07 PM
MoneySaving Stalwart
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 352
Default

What your saying is not strictly true, if you have a power cut the clock/meter has a battery back up to keep the times it has been set to.

Multi rate meters can't supply power to the storage heaters untill the clock switches the supply on, at that point the meter will click over to begin recording the low rate. It is possible for a clock to gain or loose time, but if they do the low rate and heating will still switch on and off simultaniousley. If the clock stops working you'll be either stuck in low rate (heaters on) or normal (no heating).

The only time the heating will be energised and recorded at full rate is if you have a key meter and some idiot sends the wrong tariff to the key....it happens. If a single rate tarrif gets mistakenly sent to someone with storage heaters the elements will be on 24/7....pretty quick to spot as you'll be feeding money into the meter like theres no tomorrow!
dunloadin is offline
Report Post
The Following User Says Thank You to dunloadin For This Useful Post: Show me >>
# 4
180turbo
Old 22-09-2008, 12:58 PM
MoneySaving Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 12
Default New Meter

We had our electric meter changed last week as it was an old one, but the clock is an hour out of sync (slow).
I thought the clocks on the meter's all got updated automatically when the clocks change?
Can anyone confirm this?
Or do we have to get the meter man out again to reset the clock?
180turbo is offline
Report Post
# 5
espresso
Old 22-09-2008, 1:12 PM
Deliciously Dedicated Diehard MoneySaving Devotee
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 16,063
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 180turbo View Post
We had our electric meter changed last week as it was an old one, but the clock is an hour out of sync (slow).
I thought the clocks on the meter's all got updated automatically when the clocks change?
Can anyone confirm this?
Or do we have to get the meter man out again to reset the clock?
They do not adjust all timeswitches to take account of BST, therefore your cheap rate hours will vary due to this.
Blue text on this forum usually signifies hyperlinks, so click on them!..
espresso is offline
Report Post
# 6
JohnnyM
Old 22-09-2008, 1:13 PM
MoneySaving Convert
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 64
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 180turbo View Post
We had our electric meter changed last week as it was an old one, but the clock is an hour out of sync (slow).
I thought the clocks on the meter's all got updated automatically when the clocks change?
Can anyone confirm this?
Or do we have to get the meter man out again to reset the clock?
When I had my meter changed a couple of weeks ago I noticed the clock was an hour slow too. I asked the engineer who fitted it and he said they all are and it is fine.

Last edited by JohnnyM; 22-09-2008 at 4:11 PM.
JohnnyM is offline
Report Post
# 7
SteveFoxUK
Old 23-09-2008, 11:11 PM
MoneySaving Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 4
Default

My meter is 3 hours fast - its great as I dont get home till late so all my evening electric is on economy 7. I called the power company ages ago to own up to this and have also mentioned it to a meter reader too but nothing was done. As far as im concerned, its their problem now - I dont see any further moral or financial liability as Ive made a reasonable effort to bring it to their attention. Anyone have a different view to this?
SteveFoxUK is offline
Report Post
Closed Thread

Bookmarks
 
 




Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

 Forum Jump  

Contact Us - MoneySavingExpert.com - Archive - Privacy Statement - Top

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

All times are GMT. The time now is 5:17 PM.

 Forum Jump  

Free MoneySaving Email

Top deals: Week of 19 November 2014

Get all this & more in MoneySavingExpert's weekly email full of guides, vouchers and Deals

GET THIS FREE WEEKLY EMAIL Full of deals, guides & it's spam free

Latest News & Blogs

Martin's Twitter Feed

profile
  • First name - duh!
  • Fantastic, lets celebrate a great british sportsman DOUBLE world champion and with a corking last name too. #Lewis
  • Yay its baby MSE naptime, so i can turn the grand prix on to support my namesake. Go #Lewis

Cheap Travel Money

Find the best online rate for holiday cash with MSE's TravelMoneyMax.

Find the best online rate for your holiday cash with MoneySavingExpert's TravelMoneyMax.

MSE's Twitter Feed

profile
Always remember anyone can post on the MSE forums, so it can be very different from our opinion.
We use Skimlinks and other affiliated links in some of our boards, for some of our users.