Scar Reduction Pads, do they work?

Options
Hi, i was wondering if anyone has ever used and scar reduction pads, which are usually silicon i think, or any alternatives, as i have 2 small round scars (about 5cm in diameter), due to mole removasl on my chest which are quite a bit redder than the rest of my chest and now i get really embarressed when i take my top off.

Does anything work?

Comments

• skintchick
    skintchick Posts: 15,114 Forumite
    Debt-free and Proud!
    Options
    I believe those pads do work if you have red, raised, scarring that's quite new. They won't work on old scars apparently. But I have no personal experience of them.
    :cool: DFW Nerd Club member 023...DFD 9.2.2007 :cool:
    :heartpuls married 21 6 08 :A Angel babies' birth dates 3.10.08 * 4.3.11 * 11.11.11 * 17.3.12 * 2.7.12 :heart2: My live baby's birth date 22 7 09 :heart2: I'm due another baby at the end of July 2014! :j
  • barginboyrob
    Options
    i got it in june
  • plotholder
    Options
    please bear in mind that scars fade in time anyway - i have a lot on my leg and they really dont show that much anymore. do you mean 5cm as thats quite large for mole removal?

as for being embarrassed to take off your top - dont ever be ashamed just go for it. you have had the sense to deal with potentially problematic moles and more people should do this and be proud.
  • skintchick
    Debt-free and Proud!
    Options
    Four months is a while, but I'd say give them a go, because of they don;t work oyu've not lost much, and of they do you'll feel more confident.

I know what plotholder is saying, but sadly sometimes we don;t feel confident and people telling us not to feel ashamed doesn;t help.

I have a big birthmark all over my hand and arm, and I get embarrassed about that sometimes - sadly, I can;t cover it up and laser treatment has made it look even worse :( so I know whereof I speak.