Desperately seeking freedom :)

Options
I have been in debt all my adult life :o I have been on here before in 2010 and reduced my debt significantly by PPI claims and stopping spending. I am now 52 years old and I'm in a bit of a mess financially. I am completely useless with money. I have one loan and three credit cards and overdraft. Our mortgage will be paid off in 2019.
DS is at university in 5th year studying medicine and is one of my largest expense £400 + a month. He gets a bursary & small loan this year that don't even cover his rent.
All my debt is mine, DH is unconnected to my finances. I am a nurse and work full time and earn approx £2400 a month with shift allowances with occasional overtime on top.
I know my problems is overspending. I love holidays, festivals, going to gigs, nights out and weekends away. We need to start spending money on the house, bathroom & kitchen replacement etc in the future.
We only have one holiday booked in Berlin in August that is paid for and a few gigs in the winter months. Apart from that I'm trying to spend as little as I can to reduce this debt.

My current debts are;

CC1 £4,335.75 - 0% til 04/18
CC2 £1,055.18 0% til 04/19
CC3 £7,273.58 0% til 04/19
Loan - £10,042 - finishes March 2020
Overdraft £1100
Total: £23,806.33

*I aim to get out of this mess by paying £900 off my debts a month. I have completed a snowball
*I plan to pay the credit cards off by Feb 2019.
*I am setting a weekly cash budget and will write all my expenditures in a cash book.
*No more spending on credit cards.

I am hoping that posting regularly in this diary will keep me focused and on track to freedom from my debts!
Thanks for reading :)
Total: Debt July '17 -£23,806.33 - now
-£16,910 (£6896 or 28.9% paid)

Comments

• missmental123
    missmental123 Posts: 55 Forumite
    edited 24 July 2017 at 4:01PM
    Options
    I am slowly starting to tackle my debts. Today, I have :
    1) Listed 3 pairs of shoes on Ebay that I have only worn once.