Sole Trader to Limited Company

Options
My husband has been self employed now since September 2014 and received a tax rebate in his first year of being self employed 2013/2014. We have submitted his accounts for the tax year 2015/2016 which he will need to pay his tax in Jan 2017 plus payment on account and then another payment on account in July 2017. Our accountant has now mentioned to us about becoming a Limited Company as it will be in our best interest.

I haven't got a clue regards to Sole Trader vs Limited Company, even though I have been searching online and the HMRC website.

Has anyone else gone from Sole Trader to Limited Company who may be able to give me some advice? Bank Accounts, Book Keeping Etc.

Thanks in advance xx

Comments

• greensalad
    greensalad Posts: 2,530 Forumite
    First Anniversary Name Dropper First Post Combo Breaker
    Options
    Yep, I was a sole trader from April 2014 and incorporated my LTD in October 2015.

My partner is due to create his company soon, so I've been going through the steps with him.

Having a ltd company is a fair bit more work than being a sole trader in terms of paperwork, but if your accountant is suggesting it's more beneficial then hopefully the extra paperwork will make it worth it.

To start, you obviously need to incorporate your company (with a unique name) through Companies House. Your accountant can do this for you but it's cheaper to do yourself (I think about £15) and you can do it online.

Then, you need to arrange a business bank account. You can probably start the process of applying for this but you won't be able to provide all the paperwork to open the account until you've received your certificate, so it's good to get started. Also you'll be able to see yourself on Companies House website search much faster than you receive your company paperwork in the post so you can use the certificate published on the website instead of the paper copy.