Always have a SBT handy or the system fails

Options
Hi

This may be a silly or obvious question but here goes.

I have been stoozing for 7 months or so now and had an EGG card which has now finished its 0% period. As I change cards and add cards, what is most important, shouldn't I always make sure I have a SBT card so I can get to the money?

I know looking at this first, the answer is not necessarily, as I should try to get new cards to cover existing cards, so that all I ever do is BT's and not SBT's, but a recent failed application has meant that I may not be able to cover a previous card in time and thus have to give the money back until I can get another card to bump my stooz back up.

Therefore unless I have a SBT card handy, my next card will not allow me to get to it's funds, unless my next card is an SBT card, thus dictating that even though there are better offers out there, I must apply for what ever SBT I can get hold of. Or have I got it wrong somewhere?

Any answers appreciated.

Comments

• Reaper
    Reaper Posts: 7,283 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Anniversary First Post Photogenic
    Options
    You should certainly hold onto your Egg card both for the repeat offers and so you can use it as a mule for other cards that do not allow SBTs. Furthermore as you did not take it out recently it has no BT fees on it.

While in theory it is nice to just keep rotating debts onto new cards it is not always possible as the existing debt can make it hard to get new cards. Your Egg card will allow you to restart stoozing if you find you have to pause for a moment.

I plan to do just that as my stooze level is so high I doubt I can get any more cards with good limits to replace them. Instead this time round I plan to just pay the bulk of them off, cancel them, wait until the cancelation is registered by the CRAs and then start applying again, routing the money through my Egg card.
  • happyhero
    happyhero Posts: 1,276 Forumite