Do student loans for postgraduate tuition fees affect partner's benefits?

Options
My husband is disabled and received DLA and ESA. As a couple we also receive some housing and council tax benefits.

I recently completed an undergraduate degree and my student loan was taken into account as income and my husbands benefits were reduced along with housing/council tax benefits. These went back up when I graduated. The tuition fee part of my loan was paid directly to my university and was not counted in the reduction - only the amount I was paid directly to live on.

Now I am starting a Master's degree and I am taking another loan. Unlike the undergrad loan, the money to cover Master's tuition fees is paid into my bank, which I then use to pay the university. Does anyone know if this will count as income when my husband's benefits are being calculated? And also, will it affect council/housing benefit in the same way?

I've had a look online but I can't seem to find definitive information about postgraduate loans. Thanks in advance for any help!

Comments

• NYM
    NYM Posts: 4,066 Forumite
    First Anniversary Photogenic Combo Breaker First Post
    Options
    Will a Masters loan affect my benefits?

Potentially, yes. Unlike undergraduate loans, postgraduate loans are paid directly to students. This means they function like income (and you can spend them on anything you like).

Receiving benefits will not make you inelible( :eek:) for a loan, but your loan may have an impact on the welfare support you receive.

If you receive benefits and are applying for a postgraduate loan you should discuss this with Student Finance England and / or your existing benefits provider.

The loans have a maximum value of £10,280, offered as a contribution to your tuition and living costs. There are no separate postgraduate maintenance loans.

Postgraduate Loans Scheme.

I despair ...someone should have proofread that article before publication... :doh:
  • teddysmum