I'm debt free - my story

My forfeit, as requested.
Just to say to start that I got my credit card bill today and I am not debt free as I thought.
I owe MBNA £1.27. I will pay this online as soon as I write this.

So what were my debts? A couple of credit cards that added up to telephone numbers. Put it this way, they were so bad that I actually never bothered to total them up.
Sorry to those of you with bad morgages but my payments are less than £200 a month so I'm not counting that as a debt. One article, I'm a freelance journalist as well as staff, pays that.
Nope, it was just credit card bills... how does it happen?
A business trip to the States, some one paying my bill - well I'll take the missus, pay for her air ticket on the card. Pay for this and that, while away, on the card. Then Germany, then the states again... it's a "cheap" way to travel, we're only paying half! (think about it, duh)
Heavy week of car use, had to fill up three times, even on motorways, use the card...
Needed a new camera lens... on the card.
I guess you all know the drill by now. Suddenly it's too big to pay off all at once. I pay a big chunk, well over the minimum, so up and up goes the limit.
I was around and earning good money in the 60's. Everyone had more than one credit card - you just did. I popped out whichever was closest to hand at the time, so they all went up.

Now then, I'm sorry if anyone is looking for a ray of light here, a quick fix out of your own problems, but my way out was so simple I'm almost afraid to write about it.

I stopped spending and started banging every bit of spare cash off my cards.
That's it. Sounds easy don't it?
There the simplicity ends...