Old credit card charges reclaim

Options
Hi all, I'm new to this so hope I do it right. I'm wondering if I can claim back my credit card late payment, over payment and default charges? Both me and my husband had 2 credit cards each but they were settled and closed back in 2009-2010 can I claim back the charges for them as at the year before we settled them my husband was out of work and we had lots of charges being added onto them and I know they were £30-£35 each time. Any advise would be great thank you.

Comments

• Mersey_2
    Mersey_2 Posts: 1,679 Forumite
    Options
    Yes, you can always write to the bank's Cards Customer Services team. They'll often refund charges if there was a good reason.

Although it's best to do it at the time.

But there's no entitlement to reclaim.
    Please be polite to OPs and remember this is a site for Claimants and Appellants to seek redress against their bank, ex-boss or retailer. If they wanted morality or the view of the IoD or Bank they'd ask them.
  • Nasqueron
    Nasqueron Posts: 8,836 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Post First Anniversary Combo Breaker
    Options
    Generally speaking you should assume historical charges will not be refunded and if they decide to, it would be a bonus. There is no entitlement to refunds of bank charges, since the court case win in 2009 banks have refused all claims of "unfair" charges related to banking and that will have set a precedent for other "unfair" charges e.g. those on credit cards. Given the charges were valid and correctly applied I wouldn't hope for much and see what happens
  • sarahd83
    Options
    Hi, thanks for replying. I know that the banks won their case with regard to bank charges but I thought it was different for credit card late payment and default charges am I right?
  • [Deleted User]
    [Deleted User] Posts: 35,242 Forumite
    First Anniversary Photogenic Name Dropper First Post
    Options