Great Scottish Run 10k - Glasgow 5th October 2014

Options
Curious if anyone is doing The Great Scottish Run on 5th October 2014? I'm currently training for the 10k.

Would be curious to hear others training plans and advice on the route. I'm worried about the hill on St Vincent Street and getting up onto the Kingston Bridge, however the rest looks nice and flat.

Comments

• nikki1810
    Options
    I'm doing this but I've never done a 10k before.

I plan on doing a few training sessions on North Portland Street along at Strathclyde Uni:
    https://www.google.com/maps/@55.860715,-4.243042,3a,75y,359.64h,84.74t/data=!3m4!1e1!3m2!1sob6sp8UmUak9Trw527xbDw!2e0

If you can do that, you can do any hill!
  • gleek1
    gleek1 Posts: 116 Forumite
    Options
    Don't be tempted to go too fast at the start. That is a general rule for all races, but I would say especially so for this one because the hill is quite long - including the bridge and quite steep and it is right at the start so you haven't warmed up. Don't panic that you are going slowly - too many people, especially people in the last waves tend to hare off . I am often surprised at the speed of some people in the later waves - why did they predict a slow time when they are so fast ...? But when you overtake them going down hill on the bridge you realise that holding back was a good thing. I think there is a little stinker of a hill on one of the parks - Pollock or Bellahouston but don't know if I am getting confused with the old half route!
  • vegasvisitor
    vegasvisitor Posts: 2,295 Forumite
    First Anniversary First Post Combo Breaker
    edited 21 August 2014 at 6:34PM
    Options
    Thanks both.