Sick of office work and being a glorified secretary

Options
I've been contracting as a PA for several years. It's a job that I can do reasonably well and it pays quite well but I'm really bored and fed up of spending my days playing Tetris with diaries (juggling them to fit in meetings) booking rooms, booking travel, expenses etc.

I tried to retrain as a healthcare professional by going back to uni to study for a Masters. However - I had a long commute to uni and found group work and presentations really really hard. I got good marks on written assignments and then failed a practical exam twice and had to withdraw from the course.

My self esteem is low now and not sure what job would make me happy. If I left London I could get by on less money and I was looking into other jobs like a beauty counter assistant in a department store or even a "first class host" for a train company! Or working for the NHS as a physiotherapy support worker or something similar.

Comments

• whitewing
    whitewing Posts: 11,852 Forumite
    First Post First Anniversary Combo Breaker
    Options
    What do you do outside of work? I am wondering if you expand your personal life whether the benefits of salary and a relatively routine job would be better than the insecurity of a career change in a new area. Maybe try that for a year and then you may have a better idea of where your talents lie.
    :heartsmil When you find people who not only tolerate your quirks but celebrate them with glad cries of "Me too!" be sure to cherish them. Because these weirdos are your true family.
  • Sncjw
    Sncjw Posts: 3,511 Forumite
    First Anniversary Name Dropper First Post
    Options
    What about admin roles in the NHS there's a lot of jobs which are patient facing such as receptionists or ward clerks
    Mortgage free wannabe 

Actual mortgage stating amount £75,150

Overpayment start date 1/3/23.

Starting balance £66,565.45

Current balance £63,787.16

• Polarbeary