Being made redundant - unfair dismissal?

Options
Hi,

I have been working for a company for 6 years. Last Thursday, I was called into a meeting and informed that my job was at risk of redundancy and that I wasn't allowed into the office until the following Thursday (yesterday) for my first consultation meeting. The reason they gave for the redundancy is that business has declined.

Yesterday I went to the first consultation meeting and found out that I am the only proposed redundancy, my manager (the only other member of my team) is not at risk. The alternative employment they have offered me, is my basically my job but with a different title, 12k less pay and no sign off abilities. I have a professional membership and they said they wanted to employ someone without that and less qualified because it would be cheaper. I asked if they were actually just making me redundant, rather than the role as they made it clear that they would recruit for this role if I did not take it and they pretty much admitted it.

If this role that I've been offered is exactly the same as my job and if they are going to recruit for it, do I have a case for unfair dismissal?

Thanks for your help

Comments

• Whalie
    Whalie Posts: 209 Forumite
    Photogenic First Post First Anniversary Combo Breaker
    Options
    Speak to ACAS to see if you have a valid case of unfair dismissal
  • sangie595
    sangie595 Posts: 6,092 Forumite
    Options
    Luce1307 wrote: »
    Hi,

I have been working for a company for 6 years. Last Thursday, I was called into a meeting and informed that my job was at risk of redundancy and that I wasn't allowed into the office until the following Thursday (yesterday) for my first consultation meeting. The reason they gave for the redundancy is that business has declined.