Sole trader to Ltd

Options
New poster looking for some guidance on registering as a limited company.

Of course I will be speaking to an accountant eventually but wanted to get some initial thoughts.

I have been trading as a sole trader for a few years now and will be paying my 16/17 tax bill at the end January. Also 50% towards 17/18.

My only apprehension from switching from sole trader to Ltd is when I need to pay tax. Currently I have been a bit bad at saving the tax when I have invoices paid due to some big events: wedding, buying a house etc. I never miss my tax payments but the lead up to my tax bills I end up using all my income towards it rather than just setting aside 40-50% all year round. However the big payments are out of the way now and I dont need access to the income as readily as before which is why it is looking like a good time to start considering the switch.

My question is if I switch to Ltd will when I am liable to pay tax change i.e. the remaining 17/18 tax obligations up to today need to be paid straight away.

I hope this makes some sense!

Comments

• 00ec25
    00ec25 Posts: 9,123 Forumite
    Combo Breaker First Post
    edited 4 January 2018 at 8:17PM
    Options
    you are mixing up 2 different situations:

a company is a separate legal entity, it is not "you". The company has its own tax liability under Corporation Tax rules and its own tax deadline: 9 months and 1 day after the end of its accounting period ("year end" or "reference date"). A company accounting period is "normally" 12 months, starting from whenever the company started, but it can be "short" or up to 18 months at most if needed in certain circumstances.

the company must pay its Corporation Tax by that deadline or the company will be fined. the payment date for CT is therefore not tied to the April "Tax year" you are familiar with