NatWest loan and overdraft sold to DCA as one debt

Options
Hi, this is my first time posting and just after confirmation of my thoughts and perhaps further info to help.
Basically, we took out a loan with NatWest for £10k to consolidate credit cards about 5/6 years ago, at the time, we banked with NatWest and had a roughly £2k overdraft which was to its limit. Due to unforeseen circumstances, we were unable to make the regular payments and were put in default and these debts were assigned to wescot.
On any correspondence from them, they are treating the two separate debts as one debt. I'm of the understanding that this is bad practice and might give us grounds to try and clear the account on the basis that as they are two separate debts, they should be treated as such because of the differing interest rates and surely any supposed CCA agreement would have been individual to each agreement, because of the different T&C's on each loan? Could anyone help further on this please?

Comments

• [Deleted User]
    [Deleted User] Posts: 35,242 Forumite
    First Anniversary Photogenic Name Dropper First Post
    Options
    Ask them to break it down for you, if you need the detail.

However, interest should have been frozen by now, so it should make no practical difference and the original terms have been broken.
  • Freemannodebt
    Options
    So how does it work then, when reqursting a copy of the CCA agreement? If they can't produce it it makes the debt unenforceable, surely they can't produce for this debt as they have amalgamated the two?
  • [Deleted User]
    [Deleted User] Posts: 35,242 Forumite
    First Anniversary Photogenic Name Dropper First Post
    Options
    No reason why they can't produce the two agreements, even if they have consolidated the amounts into a single account.

But the easiest way to find out is to ask them. Always a chance you may get lucky.
  • Freemannodebt
    Options