Can I claim mileage?

Options
I work as a self employed dental nurse. I have previously claimed mileage, I submitted all my paperwork to my bookkeeper in April and have been informed I can no longer claim mileage

I was wondering if anyone could confirm that this is correct.

Many thanks

Comments

• Geoff1963
    Geoff1963 Posts: 1,088 Forumite
    Options
    I think you can either : claim mileage ; or consider your vehicle as a capital and cost item, the total of which is split in proportion to personal / private mileage.

However, you can't claim mileage for commuting to your normal place of work ; and that may be where the ambiguity arises.
  • Gb1623
    Gb1623 Posts: 8 Forumite
    Options
    Thank you. I don't have a normal place of work as I generally go to different practices every day.

I was told because I can't do my job without being in a practice then I can't claim mileage
  • Geoff1963
    Geoff1963 Posts: 1,088 Forumite
    Options
    The only answer will be to bump up what you charge, all your competitors must be in the same position. A friend quit caring housecalls, because she spent more on fuel than the minimum-wage time at each place.
  • 00ec25
    00ec25 Posts: 9,123 Forumite
    Combo Breaker First Post
    Options
    who is your contract with?
    - the patient?
    or
    - the dentist?

just because you visit a number of different establishments does not, in and of itself, mean each journey is a business one, they could simply be normal commuting on the basis you have several different individual places of employment.
  • Pennywise
    Pennywise Posts: 13,468 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Post First Anniversary
    Options
    When you say you "go to different practices every day", is there a pattern, or is it purely random?

Are all these practices in the same general area, i.e. town or are they spread across several towns?

Can you confirm you're a sole trader and not a limited company?
  • Gb1623
    Options