Halifax Sharebuilder Account

Options
I have the above account and would like to dabble with buying some shares. I only want to buy small amounts, but am willing to take some risk.

I know people can't recommend specific shares, but does anyone have any pointers where I might start, to build a diverse portfolio?

Thanks
Noobie (not so :D) trying to make loads a dosh - please bear with all my questions :beer: Thanks :D

Comments

• itgirlinuk
    Options
    I have one of these accounts too. A bit restrictive, but quite good to play with tiny amount of shares.

I am not good with picking shares, but I always pick only companies that I know about. Like products I use or shops I go to and stuff like that. Apparently some share market guru said thats a good way to pick a share! But I have had more than my share of losses, but thats because I dont do all the research I should before I buy.
    The quickest way to double your money is to fold it in half and put it back in your pocket. :rolleyes:
  • Aegis
    Aegis Posts: 5,688 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Post First Anniversary
    Options
    I'd have said to start with some FTSE 100 companies until recently, but that didn't work out for NRK investors...

Personally my strategy is to steer well clear of shares and go for funds instead. Much more diversity, therefore lower risk of seeing all your value disappear with a single piece of bad news blown into a media frenzy!
    I am a Chartered Financial Planner
    Anything I say on the forum is for discussion purposes only and should not be construed as personal financial advice. It is vitally important to do your own research before acting on information gathered from any users on this forum.
  • The_Fiddler_2
    Options
    Aegis wrote: »
    I'd have said to start with some FTSE 100 companies until recently, but that didn't work out for NRK investors...