Desperate for advice - online credit card application and PPI?

I am new to this and have spent today trawling through the advice but cannot get answers to my situation so hope some of the well informed people I have seen on here can help me. I'm desperate to reclaim PPI charges on various credit cards which are still live. All were online applications.

I am in full time employment and receive a very generous package in the event of redundancy or sickness. I do not feel that the PPI policies on the cards I have would ever be of benefit to me but I have them and at this stage dare not even think about the amounts that have been accrued on these charges, which are still ongoing as I am trying to pay the cards off.

I would like to reclaim these charges but am not sure whether I could say they have been missold given that I must have asked for them when applying - otherwise I presumably would not have them.

Can anybody offer advice and whether these are valid reasons for requesting the premiums to be repaid - even better has anybody been successful with the reasons:

1. The policy is of no benefit to me and had I realised I would not have requested it
2. is it responsible lending to allow these charges to accrue and not offer any advice or check they were still suitable for my needs?

Does the fact that they were online applications basically mean I don't have a leg to stand on?

Desperate and hope somebody can help me. There may be another "angle" that I have not thought of. Thanks in advance.

Comments

• di3004
    di3004 Posts: 42,579 Forumite
    mrsmccat wrote: »
    I am new to this and have spent today trawling through the advice but cannot get answers to my situation so hope some of the well informed people I have seen on here can help me. I'm desperate to reclaim PPI charges on various credit cards which are still live. All were online applications.