Balancing multiple goals

Options
RichyRich
RichyRich Posts: 2,090 Forumite
First Post Combo Breaker First Anniversary
edited 2 September 2017 at 10:09AM in Mortgage-free wannabe
I've been lurking on this board for some time and thought it about time I set up my own diary to maintain commitment and measure against my objectives.

A bit about me: I'm 31 and so is my wife. We live in east London and have lived in our flat since 2010 which we bought on a shared ownership basis. In 2014 we staircased to 100% ownership which landed us with a 30 year mortgage of around £240,000. Our monthly payment was around £960 with an interest rate of 2.49%. In May this year we switched deals and our new rate is 1.19% which reduced the monthly payment to approx £810.

We both earn reasonable salaries and my wife works in the public sector with a defined benefit pension. I work in finance and have a defined contribution pension to which I contribute 10% of my salary and my employer contributes 6%. My goal is to retire at 55 but I understand that the minimum age at which I'll be able to draw my company pension is going to rise soon to 57, and track the state retirement age by 10 years thereafter, which irritates me a bit, so outside of this I've opened a S&S ISA in the hope that this will be able to "tide me over" between the age I want to retire and the age at which I can draw my pension. Or at least give me the option to. Currently there is only £100 per month going in but I would hope to increase that.