Meeting tomorrow - need urgent answers please

Options
loubee1234567
loubee1234567 Posts: 7 Forumite
edited 24 January 2018 at 12:17PM in Redundancy & redundancy planning
Hi, I work as a cleaning supervisor at a retail head office. It was announced last year that the building was closing down on the 16/02/2018.
We were tuped to a new company in September 2017 obviously knowing our jobs were at risk of redundancy - the company assured us that new jobs were on the horizon.
They came to site on 12/01/2018 to advise us that the building is closing and we are at risk of redundancy. Our 1-1 consultations are 25/01/2018.
Now my questions are this, I've worked there for almost 6 years so I know I'll get 5 weeks redundancy pay - we all work different hours to our contracts due to newer staff leaving (we have dropped from 11 cleaners to just 6). I saw the redundancy calculators this morning HR have emailed and whilst people who have only worked 5 months over their contracted hours are getting paid at there current hours - mine are based on my contracted 40 - despite the fact I've worked 50 plus for the last 3 years - can they do this?

Also my notice on there says 1 week, surely this is incorrect or can they start the notice from the date of the initial meeting on the 12/01/2018?

* there are 20 employees in total who work here.- some on maternity and other facilities - so consultation should be 30 days if I'm correct.

Comments

• Comms69
    Comms69 Posts: 14,229 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Anniversary First Post
    Options
    Hi, I work as a cleaning supervisor at a retail head office. It was announced last year that the building was closing down on the 16/02/2018.
    We were tuped to a new company in September 2017 obviously knowing our jobs were at risk of redundancy - the company assured us that new jobs were on the horizon.