OS Cleaning materials - what should my basics be?

Morning all!!

Well my title speaks for itself I think! As well as Stardrops and soda crystals, what should I be buying for my cleaning cupboards? Have just used up the millions of products I used before finding this board, and am now fully ready and willing to be converted!!

Any help appreciated for an OS-er in training xx

threadbanner.gif
MFW :)
[STRIKE]Mortgage 8.2.15 - [/STRIKE][STRIKE]£171,064.64[/STRIKE] Mortgage 1.5.2018 - £99,980.45
Aiming to be MF 1.10.2020

Comments

• emmie1234
    emmie1234 Posts: 237
    First Anniversary Combo Breaker
    Forumite
    White Vinegar for cleaning glass/mirrors, Bicarbonate of Soda - you can make a paste with it and use it for the grout in your tiles, seals round your bath - I think!!! Get some kitchen cloths that you can chuck in the washer when they're dirty. Can't think of anything else at the mo, I'm quite new to this too, others will probably be able to give loads more ideas!!!!

Em
    Marriages are made in heaven, but then again so is thunder and lightning!!!.....getting divorced lol :j

:rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:
    Trying to "up" my income and rookie oldstyler
  • Ticklemouse
    Ticklemouse Posts: 5,030
    Combo Breaker First Post
    Forumite
    I would start with microfibre cloths - can be used for almost anything and often with just pain water.

Vinegar - for cleaning, descaling and in the WM. I use brown as I can't get hold of industrial quantities of white easily.

Bi-carb - for deodourising, cleaning, plughole unblocking.

I also admit to using bleach (not very environmentally friendly) but I don't use a lot.

If you have them, lemons are a useful cleaning and degreasing aid and are great for freshening microwaves etc.

HTH
  • belfastgirl23
    belfastgirl23 Posts: 8,025
    Name Dropper First Post First Anniversary I've been Money Tipped!
    Forumite