stuck in a meal rut

Hiya, I was just wondering if anyone could help me with this.
I'm a pretty good cook (if I do say so myself) and like to think I'm quite adventurous with food, but I've just realised that I've ended up eating more or less the same meal all the time- some variation on rice with a tomato and pulses based sauce, occasionally a sheperdhess pie type affair with a tomato and pulses based sauce and potatoes, or lentil and tomato soup, or some form of stew- with, you guessed, pulses or beans and tomatoes. Obviously I add different veg to the mixes, but still, the basic idea is all the same, I wondered if anyone could come up with something more interesting, bearing in mind:
-On a tight budget, obviously (or I wouldn't be here!)
- I'm vegetarian, and not over-fond of dairy products either
- I prefer not to eat too much wheat cos I find it bloats me a bit
- I don't have huge amounts of time
-I generally eat alone about 4 nights out of seven
- I like cooking, but hate washing up!

Any suggestions would be great

xxx
"People who "do things" exceed my endurance,
God for a man who solicits insurance..." - Dorothy Parker

Comments

• moggins
    moggins Posts: 5,190
    Combo Breaker First Post
    Forumite
    Bulgar Bake

Simmer the Bulgar wheat for 20 mins or until water is all absorbed
    Dice one onion and sweat off with a handful of sliced mushrooms

Mix together in a bowl with one carton of natural yoghurt and a beaten egg, top with a little grated cheese and pop in the oven until the cheese is melted and slightly browned.
    Organised people are just too lazy to look for things

F U Fund currently at £250
  • catkins
    catkins Posts: 5,703
    I've been Money Tipped!
    Forumite
    I too am vegetarian but as I am home all day (I work evenings) I do have quite a bit of time to prepare meals. Anyway this is an idea of the sort of things I eat - hope you may be able to get some ideas.

Shepherds pie made either with just veg or veg and lentils