Zig's new start (again!) on a budget!

Options
Hi,

I'm 20 and currently about to finish my first year at university.

I have always been bad with money and now I am an official student with ingoings and outgoings I want to be better.

Ever since I turned 18 I have had credit cards. I owed about £2500 but paid them all off. I now have one credit card which my Mum owes some money on. I owe my sister £500 and my overdraft is at -£1100. That is my only debt now apart from my student debt which I'm not counting at the mo.

This is going to be my diary to keep me on track with my spending, and if anyone has any tips or advice then feel free to add them!

Thanks for reading that boring little lot!

Zig x
Total Debt (Dec 2015) £11,500 : Currently £7,675
House Deposit Savings : £8,600/£25,000
Lose 21lb : 0/21

Comments

• Pamela1705
    Pamela1705 Posts: 99 Forumite
    Options
    Hi Zig,

I'm quite new at this too, so I don't feel seasoned enough to offer you any advice. But what I would say is to be careful with the student debt - that's part of the reason why I wanted to start tackling mine. I left uni three years ago, did a post grad course in london and I'm now paying for that.

Just remember to watch what you spend - start now, rather than in a few years, and you'll see the difference! :j
    Goals for 2010 - pay off £3160 debt. Come on Pamela!
  • zigmeister
    zigmeister Posts: 1,099 Forumite
    Options
    Hi Pamela!

Thanks for replying :)

I'm lucky in that my Dad is putting away £200 a month at the mo to pay off my student debt. But I don't know how long that is going to last, and also, I want to pay him off eventually.

I'm always saying that I'm gonna start being more sensible with money but I always slip back. My main weakness is food shopping. I'm a right foodie and love buying loads of different stuff! I'm only buying for me and my OH but I reckon I spend about £200 a month which is way too much! :eek:

Zig x
  • zigmeister
    Options