PLEASE READ BEFORE POSTING

Hello Forumites! However well-intentioned, for the safety of other users we ask that you refrain from seeking or offering medical advice. This includes recommendations for medicines, procedures or over-the-counter remedies. Posts or threads found to be in breach of this rule will be removed.
We'd like to remind Forumites to please avoid political debate on the Forum. This is to keep it a safe and useful space for MoneySaving discussions. Threads that are - or become - political in nature may be removed in line with the Forum’s rules. Thank you for your understanding.

Loss of power for 26 hours - is my freezer food safe?

Options
We have had a 26 hour power cut and didn't open the freezer.

Is the food safe?
An average day in my life:hello: :eek::mad: :coffee::coffee::coffee::T :o :rotfl: :rotfl: :p :eek::mad: :beer:
I am no expert in property but have lived in many types of homes, in many locations and can only talk from experience.

Comments

• Smiley_Mum
    Smiley_Mum Posts: 3,836 Forumite
    I've been Money Tipped!
    Options
    Have a look at this website. It states that if you have a full freezer then the power can be out for 2 days tops before any problems arise. Read it and see what you think...

http://www.ext.colostate.edu/PUBS/foodnut/09357.html

See also this website, just a little bit past halfway on the page...

http://cals.arizona.edu/maricopa/fcs/hotline.html
    “Ordinary riches can be stolen, real riches cannot. In your soul are infinitely precious things that cannot be taken from you.” - Oscar Wilde
  • Cuddle_bum
    Options
    Have you opened the freezer at all?? I would say if you have tne have a mass cook out and all the stuff that can be refrozen then refreeze and the stuff that can't.....well it's dinner round yours tonight lol