PCP finance - what's the catch?

drc90
drc90 Posts: 36 Forumite
Hi all.

I'm new to PCP financing so don't fully understand it.

There's a car that I can buy from Ford for £19,750 cash outright. However, the same car I can also buy on finance:

* £2,000 customer deposit
* £2,250 deposit allowance
* £209.16 x 38 monthly payments
* £7,552 optional final payment
* 0% APR

Assuming the deposit allowance is paid for by Ford and not me, and assuming my maths is correct, this means if I buy the car at the end of the term, my total payments will be £17,500.08, which is considerably less than the £19,750 list price.

Can someone tell me what I'm missing? I know a lot of people say "0% finance is too good to be true", so what's the catch?

Thanks

Comments

• [Deleted User]
    [Deleted User] Posts: 35,242 Forumite
    First Anniversary Photogenic Name Dropper First Post
    There isn't one for you.

For the dealer, the risk is that you will pay off the finance immediately meaning they lose their commission.

But that's a risk they take, rather than you.
  • DrEskimo
    DrEskimo Posts: 2,347 Forumite
    First Anniversary Name Dropper First Post
    drc90 wrote: »
    Hi all.

I'm new to PCP financing so don't fully understand it.

There's a car that I can buy from Ford for £19,750 cash outright. However, the same car I can also buy on finance:

* £2,000 customer deposit
    * £2,250 deposit allowance
    * £209.16 x 38 monthly payments
    * £7,552 optional final payment
    * 0% APR

Assuming the deposit allowance is paid for by Ford and not me, and assuming my maths is correct, this means if I buy the car at the end of the term, my total payments will be £17,500.08, which is considerably less than the £19,750 list price.

Can someone tell me what I'm missing? I know a lot of people say "0% finance is too good to be true", so what's the catch?

Thanks