IT contractor mortgage

Options
Hi everybody,

I am looking to get a mortgage this year, in around the summer.
Being an IT contractor it adds some complication, along with some other history I have . I declared bankrupt in 2007 (fully discharged and not on my credit file). As part of that was a voluntary repossession. There was equity and felt it was a good move at the time (may be not in hindsight).

I did secure a mortgage in 2013 with nationwide with the above issues fully declared.

However, additional complications are I am now "self employed" and it will be a relocation a few hundred miles away.

I have done research and have found some contractor friendlier lenders . Specifically leeds building society and halifax which I believe fit my situation.

I have been an IT contractor since September 2017.

The general concerns I have is my history above (no adverse credit since) and I am a contractor and relocating. I appreciate it's likely I will need to use a broker but any suggestions or advice would be appreciated.

Edit

We will have around 30 to 40 k for a deposit and possibly looking for 250k (at the upper end)

Comments

• csgohan4
    csgohan4 Posts: 10,587 Forumite
    First Anniversary First Post Name Dropper Photogenic
    Options
    you really need a broker due to your prev bankruptcy to ensure you get the right lender for you
    "It is prudent when shopping for something important, not to limit yourself to Pound land/Estate Agents"

G_M/ Bowlhead99 RIP
    5557223 Posts: 45 Forumite
    First Post Combo Breaker First Anniversary
    Options
    Get a good IT contractor friendly broker (ideally fee free). There are a few but most won't deal with you unless you are earning at least £325 a day.
  • DavidT67
    DavidT67 Posts: 389 Forumite
    First Anniversary Name Dropper First Post
    Options