where do i stand

Hello all.

I started a job on Monday with a contractor (self employed), i'm a painter.
I had to turn up to site, do the job and that's it.
One issue, i'm a female painter and I have had to deal with a lot of s@@t. I finished the job because the grief I was getting. They owe me the money I have worked. Can I do anything? or is it lost.
many thanks

Comments

• Savvy_Sue
    Savvy_Sue Posts: 46,014 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Post First Anniversary
    Did you finish what you'd been contracted to do, or did you leave the job before it was finished?

What were the arrangements for paying you? Have you asked about the money?

Too little information to advise.
    Signature removed for peace of mind
  • Comms69
    Comms69 Posts: 14,229 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Anniversary First Post
    ree1977 wrote: »
    Hello all.

I started a job on Monday with a contractor (self employed), i'm a painter.
    I had to turn up to site, do the job and that's it.
    One issue, i'm a female painter and I have had to deal with a lot of s@@t. I finished the job because the grief I was getting. They owe me the money I have worked. Can I do anything? or is it lost.
    many thanks
    Well how much do they owe you?

Surely as a self employed painter you've had to deal with issues in the past?

In what way was you being female a problem?
  • System
    System Posts: 178,093 Community Admin
    Photogenic Name Dropper First Post
    it was day rate, so not a contractual agreement
  • System
    Comms69 wrote: »
    Well how much do they owe you?

Surely as a self employed painter you've had to deal with issues in the past?

In what way was you being female a problem?

no never dealt with this problem as I've had my own jobs because im good at what I do!, this was a contractor.
    in what way was being a female a problem..... absolute crap loads. I've learnt the hard way we're still not acceptable. You're obviously going to have a comment. So crack on