Your browser isn't supported
It looks like you're using an old web browser. To get the most out of the site and to ensure guides display correctly, we suggest upgrading your browser now. Download the latest:

Welcome to the MSE Forums

We're home to a fantastic community of MoneySavers but anyone can post. Please exercise caution & report spam, illegal, offensive or libellous posts/messages: click "report" or email forumteam@. Skimlinks & other affiliated links are turned on

Search
  • FIRST POST
    • dieselette
    • By dieselette 12th Jul 18, 5:56 PM
    • 2Posts
    • 0Thanks
    dieselette
    Plan 1 and Plan 2 Student Loan. What should I do?
    • 12th Jul 18, 5:56 PM
    Plan 1 and Plan 2 Student Loan. What should I do? 12th Jul 18 at 5:56 PM
    Hello,

I am 37 and have recently graduated from a degree in healthcare. I took out a Plan 2 student loan to make ends meet. The total loan stands at 6,995. However, in a previous life I studied an unrelated degree. I took a full student loan out on Plan 1 in 2010. This stands at 15,775.

I'm trying to figure out what to do in terms of repayment. The Plan 2 loan is at a much higher interest rate but as the threshold for repayment is also higher than the Plan 1 loan, I can't preferentially repay it. Repayments for Plan 1 will be calculated on my earnings between 18330 and 25000, and my earnings above 25000 will be used to calculate repayments for Plan 2.

Here are the Plan 2 interest rates according to Martin's guide:
    - Earn under 25,000: Interest rate = RPI
    - Earn over 45,000: Interest rate = RPI + 3%
    - Earn from 25,000 to 45,000: It rises gradually from RPI to RPI + 3%. For example, earn midway, so 35,000, and your rate'll be RPI + 1.5%
    Plan 1 interests rates stand at 1.5%.