Advice on Remortgaging With a Lower Income

Hi all, newbie here :beer:

I am looking for advice on our situation which is this:
  • Bought a house with £51k help to buy and £176,500 mortgage in 2016 on 5 year fix.
  • Currently overpaying by £220 per month with current overpayment sat at around £4,500.
  • We had our first child in 2017 and planning on another in 2019.
  • Partner has decided to drop from full time to part time work in order to bring up the children herself in the early years.
  • This means our income has dropped by roughly £18k/year.
  • When we come to remortgage we need to borrow roughly £180k to incorporate the help 2 buy (taking into consideration current overpayments for the rest of the term).
  • If the lenders will only lend 4x salary when we come to remortgage and I haven't had a promotion/pay rise, we are looking at a figure of £150,000 max.

So my question is, if this is the case when we come to remortgage will we have trouble incorporating the help 2 buy portion of the borrowing into the new mortgage? Even if we have demonstrated we can afford to overpay every month on our current mortgage, and we have never missed a payment?

Of course I can only theorise on future circumstances. If you need any more info just ask.

Thanks for any help/advice.

Comments

• astal
    astal Posts: 11 Forumite
    Not expert and not had any experience with help to buy, but my view is that if you don't change mortgage provider, you don't need to re-apply, hence to resubmit income details. The current lender would be happy that you won't have missed any payments at the time (and credit score fine), and will accept re-mortgage.
  • Thanks for your reply. I thought that because we would need to increase the borrowing it would need to be a remortgage and not just a rate switch.

Does anyone know more?
  • getmore4less
    getmore4less Posts: 46,882 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Anniversary First Post I've helped Parliament