Personal Pension Plan or SIPP

Options
Hi, further to the very helpful information I have received on the forum, I am making arrangements to reduce salary and make company payments to a pension.

I am a company director, aged 52 with a property (mortgage paid off) and cash across various accounts, but I have no pension. My aim is to contribute 20-30K per year for the next 10 years. I am now trying to decide on a suitable pension product which is proving a bit of a headache. We use NEST for our employees but I am not too keen on that. I have no investment knowledge so need a straightforward product that I can pay in to and leave to hopefully grow. I am totally lost whether to go with a personal pension plan or a SIPP.

I have been looking at the Aviva Pension with the Ready Made Funds. In particular, the Aviva Investors Multi-asset Fund II (risk=lower to medium), This appears to have fees of 0.4% for the product and 0.35% OCF.

The other option is SIPP with a single balanced fund and I have been looking at HL. I see that people often seem to suggest Vanguard Life Strategy 60 (0.45% platform + 0.22% OCF) and HSBC Global Strategy Balanced (0.45 platform + 0.19% OCF). I notice HL also offer their own funds such as the Balanced Growth Portfolio with an OCF of 1.32%.

I really would appreciate any views people have on these options. With the SIPP, can you set things up to automatically invest to a particular fund each time a contribution is received, or do you have to go in and make a purchase each time. I guess with the personal pension products like Aviva, the money goes straight to the fund. In the future, I would be looking at a drawn down arrangement.

Thank you very much indeed for any views on this.

Comments

• BLB53
    BLB53 Posts: 1,583 Forumite
    Options