Your browser isn't supported
It looks like you're using an old web browser. To get the most out of the site and to ensure guides display correctly, we suggest upgrading your browser now. Download the latest:

Welcome to the MSE Forums

We're home to a fantastic community of MoneySavers but anyone can post. Please exercise caution & report spam, illegal, offensive or libellous posts/messages: click "report" or email forumteam@. Skimlinks & other affiliated links are turned on

Search
  • FIRST POST
    • Living Bate
    • By Living Bate 13th Feb 18, 9:53 AM
    • 29Posts
    • 23Thanks
    Living Bate
    Career Advice?
    • 13th Feb 18, 9:53 AM
    Career Advice? 13th Feb 18 at 9:53 AM
    Hello all,

I am a 36 year old male looking for career advice and i don't really know where to get it. Can anyone recommend anywhere?

Brief synopsis:

In 2009 I joined a construction company in a general admin role.

From 2010 - 2012 I completed a Foundation Degree in the science of surveying through day release from work.

In 2012 I began training as a Quantity Surveyor at work and began a degree in Project Management in Construction

by 2015 I completed my degree and was working as a QS for the construction company

in 2016 I left my previous company and got a job as a QS for an engineering company

now in 2018 I am looking for a new job and I just don't know where to go. I feel I've fallen into a grey intermediate area where my wage demands are slightly higher than basic level QS, but i'm not experienced / qualified enough for a Senior level.

I currently earn 32k. I'm not ready for a 60k job, but i'm also not prepared to drop to 25k.

I need advice on where to go from here. I obviously keen to progress and learn, and not so keen to regress, unless its for a good training opportunity.

Any guidance or advice would be much appreciated.
Page 1
    • Fireflyaway
    • By Fireflyaway 14th Feb 18, 6:24 PM
    • 1,734 Posts
    • 1,884 Thanks
    Fireflyaway