Scottish Widows income protection plan

Hi everyone.

When I started my Scottish Widows pension plan 15 years ago, I also took out an income protection plan to cover for the eventuality of me being unable to keep paying into the plan. When I raised my contributions a few years later, I was advised to also take out a second income protection plan to cover the increment.

At all times was I upfront that I worked full time as a classical violinist for a major British opera company.

In 2012, I suffered spontaneous nerve palsy, losing complete control of my bowing arm. This ended my career instantly.

My claim to Employment Support Allowance was declined on the grounds that I was able to undertake most professions, just not playing the violin anymore.

Scottish Widows refused to take over my pension contributions through my income protection plan whilst I was retraining as a teacher, on the grounds that I was not eligible for ESA.

Having been upfront about my profession when taking out the plan, would it have been up to Scottish Widows to check that I would not be eligible to payments from this income protection plan, even if I might no more be able to play the violin? I have documentation from leading UK neurologists to prove that my medical condition at the time did indeed mean I had to end my career.

I wonder if I might be in the position to reclaim my payments into the income protection plan, as it proofed useless to me when I did need it.

Has anyone had a similar experience?
Informed advice would be much appreciated!!!

Thanks a lot.

Comments

• IAmWales
    IAmWales Posts: 2,024 Forumite
    What do the terms and conditions say about eligibility, does it pay out if you cannot do you normal job or any job at all?
  • Nearlyold
    Nearlyold Posts: 2,287 Forumite
    First Anniversary Name Dropper Combo Breaker First Post
    Are you being paid during your teacher training?
  • dunstonh
    dunstonh Posts: 116,316 Forumite