Any advice e for pension newbie?

Hi. Extreme newbie here wanting some/any pension advice. Kind of a what would you do situation. Very small fry compared to some posts on here.
Back story is – was in a works pension until getting made redundant. Took some as cash – which has helped recently with getting a good – for me – deal with my mortgage (reduced payments, 10 year low rate) and the rest I used to buy years into my LGPS.
Realised recently that my pension wasn’t doing too much so started looking into paying more to build it up. Looked at Prudential AVC’s but went down the internal AVC’S route.
Tried setting it up end of last year but got knocked back by my doctor as he refused to do the medical. The form given appeared to ask them to guarantee that I would be in good health for the next 20+ years. Went back to WYPF and they eventually provided another form with different wording to say I was currently in good health and nothing to suggest my health would deteriorate. Back to the doctors, they took the form to their weekly meeting and again came back to say they wouldn’t do it. This reasons on this occasion were that they didn’t have the time to offer this particular service and they still were not happy with the wording.
Back to WYPF and they arranged for me to have a medical with the Local Authority occupational health (lucky in this respect). Passed the medical and I was set up. Extra £100.00 per month going into the pot. Unfortunately due to how long it took to sort out I’d had a birthday so my buying power had reduced a little.
As I find out more and more about pensions it’s becoming clear that I won’t be retiring early so will probably have to go to 67 (as it is now, could be higher by the time I get there).