Santander mortgage renewal

Options
Hello,

My current mortgage deal expires in August and I have received a letter from Santander offering me the change to renew my mortgage early with no early repayment charge. Or, I can choose to wait longer until my current product ends and choose a new product then or a completely different provider.

In the past, I have always just renewed with Santander early when I have received these letters. I would be interested to hear if anyone has received similar letters in the past and chosen to wait until closer to the end of their existing deal. Did the rates offered by Santander improve?

Thanks in advance.

Comments

• kingstreet
    kingstreet Posts: 38,767 Forumite
    First Anniversary Name Dropper Photogenic First Post
    Options
    As usual, the rates will depend on market conditions at the time.

If the outlook for rates is worse, they will increase, if it gets better they will be reduced.
    I am a mortgage broker. You should note that this site doesn't check my status as a Mortgage Adviser, so you need to take my word for it. This signature is here as I follow MSE's Mortgage Adviser Code of Conduct. Any posts on here are for information and discussion purposes only and shouldn't be seen as financial advice. Please do not send PMs asking for one-to-one-advice, or representation.
  • Lilla_D
    Lilla_D Posts: 359 Forumite
    First Anniversary
    Options
    Hi,

Rates are subject to change all the time, so they move up and down - both for Santander and other lenders. If you apply for a deal, then the rate is reserved, so then any subsequent rate increases wouldn't affect you. However, if the rate goes down, you could possibly switch to the new lower rate before the remortgage transaction completes.