Your browser isn't supported
It looks like you're using an old web browser. To get the most out of the site and to ensure guides display correctly, we suggest upgrading your browser now. Download the latest:

Welcome to the MSE Forums

We're home to a fantastic community of MoneySavers but anyone can post. Please exercise caution & report spam, illegal, offensive or libellous posts/messages: click "report" or email forumteam@.

Search
  • FIRST POST
    • Bitsy Beans
    • By Bitsy Beans 4th Sep 11, 8:46 AM
    • 9,433Posts
    • 65,784Thanks
    Bitsy Beans
    Basic Recipes for Novice Cook
    • 4th Sep 11, 8:46 AM
    Basic Recipes for Novice Cook 4th Sep 11 at 8:46 AM
    I wanted to pick the collective OS brain

I want to create a book of basic recipes for a friend who is a complete novice when it comes to cooking. She'd never even baked a cake before. I was thinking of including all the simple recipes we use instinctively that she wouldn't know for starters eg how to make a basic white sauce.

Now I've sat down to start it my mind has gone blank

So aside from knowing how to make a white/cheese sauce what else do you think it would be worth me including?
    I have a gift for enraging people, but if I ever bore you it'll be with a knife Louise Brooks

All will be well in the end. If it's not well, it's not the end.

Be humble for you are made of earth. Be noble for you are made of stars
Page 1
    • flutterbyuk25
    • By flutterbyuk25 4th Sep 11, 9:03 AM
    • 6,986 Posts
    • 35,495 Thanks
    flutterbyuk25
    • 4th Sep 11, 9:03 AM
    • 4th Sep 11, 9:03 AM
    hello Bitsy, lovely idea

How bout basic spag bol and a basic soup (leek and potato or veg maybe?)?

x

ps I don't know how to make white sauce! but then again I don't like it
    * Rainbow baby boy born 9th August 2016 *

* Slimming World follower (I breastfeed so get 6 hex's!) *
    • jolfc
    • By jolfc 4th Sep 11, 9:07 AM
    • 406 Posts
    • 420 Thanks
    jolfc
    • 4th Sep 11, 9:07 AM