We'd like to remind Forumites to please avoid political debate on the Forum. This is to keep it a safe and useful space for MoneySaving discussions. Threads that are - or become - political in nature may be removed in line with the Forum’s rules. Thank you for your understanding.

Advice Required Re Staff Motivation

Options
I'm looking for guidance on a situation that I'm in the process of dealing with.

I'm a manager for a large company. My team comprises of 22 people. Although the job doesn't require any formal qualifications, it is very specific to our industry (there is a lot of training provided).

My problem concerns our latest new recruit.

To give you some background, this is this persons first job from leaving school. They have a very laid back personality with no real grasp of responsibility or consequences of actions.

The difficulty is that the main part of their responsibilities means that they are not directly supervised (the job requires working at many locations throughout the week).

So far, there has been problems with standards of appearance & inconsistency in productivity - some of this has manifested itself in putting work off as they perceive it to be not important, then forgetting to do it.

Now that's (some) of the worst this is balanced against when they are supervised, they work very well indeed. Unfortunately, due to the nature of the work involved, this is rarely possible.

I am fully aware of all the HR tools available to me and some of these have already been used. It's got to the stage that I think I will need to arrange a meeting & set expected objectives to be aceived within an agreed timescale (probably 4 weeks). The upshot is if I go down this route, there is a real risk that if they carry on as before, then the only option is to terminate his contract.