We'd like to remind Forumites to please avoid political debate on the Forum. This is to keep it a safe and useful space for MoneySaving discussions. Threads that are - or become - political in nature may be removed in line with the Forum’s rules. Thank you for your understanding.

'Stopping graduates repaying student loans early...' blog di

Options
This is the discussion to link on the back of Martin's blog. Please read the blog first, as this discussion follows it.

Please click 'post reply' to discuss below.

Comments

• jetfighter
    jetfighter Posts: 249 Forumite
    First Anniversary Combo Breaker Mortgage-free Glee!
    edited 4 November 2010 at 12:13PM
    Options
    I graduated in 2005 and currently have a student loan debt of about £15k. I pay about £80 a month out of my salary and followed Martin Lewis's advice about not repaying early, but will this change with these new proposals? Will it affect old loans as well as new ones?

I guess what I'm asking is whether the old advice of "Don't repay early - save it instead" still applies? I have no other debts so the money would be spent/saved (usually saved).
  • oakhouse13
    oakhouse13 Posts: 767 Forumite
    edited 4 November 2010 at 12:41PM
    Options
    Martin, thank you very much for taking a look at these proposals and sharing your analysis.

Are young people looking elsewhere because I would. We have technology multi-millionaires telling us that the best universities will soon be free. Admittedly what Bill Gates is talking about is not a replacement for three years away from home at university. I think it is time for young people to think laterally about how you educate yourself before you consider taking on the debts being proposed for an education that may be served to you on a plate.
  • MSE_Martin
    MSE_Martin Posts: 8,272 Money Saving Expert
    First Post First Anniversary Combo Breaker
    Options
    jetfighter wrote: »