Hire Purchase - Voluntary termination

Options
Hi

We have a Hire Purchase Agreement for our car that has been taken over by Santander. Due to a change in our personal circumstances we are considering handing the car back. We have made the 50% payments and have checked that we can return the car however Santander are telling us that if we go ahead then they will place a mark against our finance history and that we may not be able to get finance in the future. Can they do this?

I would really appreciate any advice on this matter.

regards

Comments

• KingElvis
    KingElvis Posts: 4,100 Forumite
    Options
    I'm no expert but I suspect they mean an internal mark on your account, do you bank with them?

If you are fully up to date and following the terms and conditions of the loan to the letter, I don't think that is true.

Good luck with them :)
    "We want the finest wines available to humanity, we want them here, and we want them now!"
  • nic6678
    nic6678 Posts: 8 Forumite
    Options
    Hi

Thanks for your advice. We don't bank with them however our mortgage is with them and we are both worriers.

Will consider our options carefully.

thanks again.
  • standupguy
    standupguy Posts: 904 Forumite
    Options
    They have misinformed you in the hope you will not vt - and what they have said is worthy of strong complaint as it is not correct.

You can vt under the terms of your HP agreement subject to paying half the total payable and not in arrears at time of vt. You are just exercising a clause under the agreement which you are entitled to do.

The mark they are talking about is just a vt marker on your credit file for this account - it is not a detrimental mark and must not effect your future regarding credit.