Advise on term time only pay

Options
Can anyone give me some advise on how to work out the following please?
I've been working for a private family business for the last 17 years. I've recently requested term time only hours which they have agreed to on a trial basis until January. I expect to pop into work for probably 1 day during the summer holidays to complete some office work. How can I expect my pay to be worked out? I'm thinking the easiest way is to do it so my contract ends at the end of July and new one starts September, there fore leaving me with no pay in August? Then I only get paid for the hours I work. How does this work in terms of holiday pay as obviously I'm not going to take actual holiday off during term time.
Hoping someone in here has been in this position and can offer some help. Many Thanks

Comments

• Comms69
    Comms69 Posts: 14,229 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Anniversary First Post
    Options
    Can anyone give me some advise on how to work out the following please?
    I've been working for a private family business for the last 17 years. I've recently requested term time only hours which they have agreed to on a trial basis until January. I expect to pop into work for probably 1 day during the summer holidays to complete some office work. How can I expect my pay to be worked out? I'm thinking the easiest way is to do it so my contract ends at the end of July and new one starts September, there fore leaving me with no pay in August? Then I only get paid for the hours I work. How does this work in terms of holiday pay as obviously I'm not going to take actual holiday off during term time.
    Hoping someone in here has been in this position and can offer some help. Many Thanks

No need to end and start a new contract - no idea why that is even considered

Either calculate a day / hour rate, or simply a % against a WTE.

Have you asked your employer, as ultimately it's up to them
  • Smodlet
    Smodlet Posts: 6,976 Forumite