Christmas Cake Marzipan and Royal Icing

Options
Hello! I am a newbie to making my own Christmas Cake! My two children and I had a blast on stir up Sunday making it with the presoaked fruits we had made weeks before. 😋

My question is regarding timings for Marzipan and Icing.

Do I have to put the marzipan on and leave it for a few days before I add the royal icing? Or can I do it all in one go and just pop into air tight tin then store in cool dark place till Christmas day?

Thanks for the help. I definitely need some advice.

:xmastree::xmastree::xmastree::xmastree::xmastree::xmastree::rudolf:

Comments

• LHW99
    LHW99 Posts: 4,220 Forumite
    First Anniversary Name Dropper First Post
    Options
    I'm not fond of marzipan, but my mum used to put it on after the cakes had had some sherry or similar dripped over, and then ice it a week before Christmas.
  • Murphybear
    Murphybear Posts: 7,279 Forumite
    First Anniversary Name Dropper Photogenic First Post
    Options
    If you have the time/energy then try making your own marzipan. It really is ten times better than any you can buy. I used to think I didn't like marzipan until I made my own
  • kippers
    kippers Posts: 2,057 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Post First Anniversary Combo Breaker
    Options
    Yes you can ice the cake straight after putting the marzipan on....infact ill be doing this in the next few days
  • Beanbag2018
    Options
    Wow. I’ve never even considered that one can make the stuff from scratch. It’s always been one of those things that’s shop bought for us.

Maybe next year. For us it’s a massive achievement to have even made a cake. First time. And with help from my 1 year old and 3 year old. :T:blushing::xmastree::dance:
  • Murphybear
    Murphybear Posts: 7,279 Forumite
    First Anniversary Name Dropper Photogenic First Post
    Options