Viking's Diary

Options
So I'm a recent convert to MSE, oddly directed here by my FIL's love of the Martin Lewis Money Show. We're trying to move house right now to a place closer to work, which will actually involve picking up a much bigger mortgage, but having lurked for a few weeks I finally worked out yesterday that our current mortgage is costing us £15.50 a day in interest, (fixed at 3.5%) and this means more than half the monthly payment is interest. I practically fell off the couch.

This deal comes to an end in August so even if we can't sell our house we can refix at less than 2% with the same provider - and hopefully that's the deal we'd be getting on the new, bigger mortgage. I've never OP'd before, but tomorrow I am going to remove the £65 that has been maundering in an old building soc account for more than 5 years and pay it in so I can make my first ever OP.

I really am a complete newbie - this is our first month of budgeting our spending (OH has done his for years but I do most of the money making and spending including the money he hands over for bills); I'm trying to meal plan more productively; I'm reading the Millionaire Next Door and I'm thinking far more carefully about the choices I make than before.

So I think a diary will really help move things along. I'm not aiming for early retirement but I would like to not be living month to month so much with a really decent combined salary. My aim is to be able to pay down the mortgage and reduce the daily interest in the first instance. I might be looking to shave a couple of years off right now, but I expect that if we do manage to move then we'll be looking to pay down as fast as possible to reduce the monthly bill.

I've been hugely inspired by so many MFW diaries on here and I thought I might as well give it a go!

Viking_MFW

Comments

• PrincessLou
    PrincessLou Posts: 503 Forumite
    Options