I want to BTL, can someone reality check me?

Options
I'm considering looking at a buy to let. Here is the nitty gritty.

Where I am now:
Own home: £140k mortgage (£690 per month on my mortgage, currently overpaying it)
Own home value is £210k thereabouts.
My salary is £47k per year

The property I'm looking at is a 2 bed on the market at £290k. It actually used to be my old house ergo why my interest, however I reckon I could get it at about £280k as it's been on for a while.
The rental income on this 2 bed property is about £900 per month. I would be looking to rent that one out and stay where I am. I have good credit, no balances on credit cards, no missed payments, etc. I don't have anything in savings (but can correct that by just not overpaying my own mortgage for a few months)

Do these figures even slightly sound plausible? I have never rented anything out before so I'm totally new at this so if I'm missing anything, please say!
Mortgage when started: £186500 (2 year fixed when taken out in 2016)
Current mortgage (13/03/2018): £146,922.15 (5yr fixed 2.39% + 10% overpayment limit)
Mortgage free day: 0?/0?/2025

Comments

• Brighty
    Options
    Buy to let lenders will want the rent to cover as much as 145% of the yearly interest at an approx 5.5% interest rate. Therefore, you'll not likely be able to get a BTL mortgage of much more than £135k on a £900 a month property. So where will you get the other £145k from?

Brighty
  • getmore4less
    Options
    Gross yield 3.8%

Not high enough for a rental business.
  • I kind of figured it would be unrealistic in fairness.

Thanks for the extra information though; gives me a starting point to start learning about this as I want to do this when I get my mortgage paid off.
    Current mortgage (13/03/2018): £146,922.15 (5yr fixed 2.39% + 10% overpayment limit)
  • AnotherJoe
    AnotherJoe Posts: 19,622 Forumite
    First Anniversary Name Dropper First Post Photogenic
    Options