"who does self assessment"

OH got about 1.5K interest this year, contacted HMRC who reluctantly sent a tax form, new code / calculation came back with message to say you don't need to do S-A next year

Amount of interest likely to change, we checked the "who needs to do S-A return" thingy on the HMRC website and they only seemed bothered if income from savings interest was > 2.5K.

I thought that you had to pay tax on interest over 1K - where am I going wrong in this?

Comments

• p00hsticks
    p00hsticks Posts: 12,802 Forumite
    First Post Name Dropper Photogenic First Anniversary
    Flugelhorn wrote: »
    I thought that you had to pay tax on interest over 1K - where am I going wrong in this?

I'm not an expert, but I think you're equating the fact that tax may be owed with the need to do a full self assessment. In many cases there'll be a less complicated way of gonig about it - I seem to recall there used to be a much shorter form where you could just declare interest and dividends without filling in the full self assessment.

And that's assuming that HMRC aren't now automatically made aware of it by the savings institutions in question and adjust your tax code accordingly ?
  • frugalmacdugal
    frugalmacdugal Posts: 10,077 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Post Photogenic First Anniversary
    Hi,

if you've got time read this.
  • unholyangel
    unholyangel Posts: 16,863 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Post First Anniversary
    You generally only need to do a tax return for savings interest if you earn more than 10,000 from it or (iirc) if you don't have a paye source to pay any tax due on it.

The 2.5k you're referencing I believe refers to interest other than savings. Might be mistaken (theres a lot of different thresholds involved with tax returns) but i'm relatively certain.
    You keep using that word. I do not think it means what you think it means - Inigo Montoya, The Princess Bride
  • Flugelhorn
    Flugelhorn Posts: 5,573 Forumite